1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] Problem trying to changre home page

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by cyclone, Jan 19, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cyclone

    cyclone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Do not know how to change the setting on internet explore .The problem is when I go to internet option and the place were you change your home page it is grayed out and it will not let me change .I am running 98ME Thanks for any Help
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Cyclone
    Some ISP's provide a customized version of IE. One of the customizations they might make is to disable the ability to change the home page, so that you are forced to use their home page. You can re-enable this by making a small change in the Windows registry.

    Make sure you back up the registry before proceeding.
    Backup registry to desktop
    NOTE:
    PLEASE do a backup of the registry before applying this fix. To do a backup, go to Start|Run and type in REGEDIT and in the "Registry" drop dowm menu, select "Export Registry" and make sure the ALL button is marked.


    In Regedit, navigate to this key:

    KEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel

    Let us know if that fixes it.
    Dave

    In the right-hand pane, right-click the "HomePage" value, then select Modify. Change it to:
    00 00 00 00
    When you reboot, you should be able to change the home page again.

    Also
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q195161
     
  3. cyclone

    cyclone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Davey that took care of the problem . Do I need to leave the registry on the desk top ? Again Thanks a whole lot .
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    No, you can just delete it. It's only a backup copy.

    Grtz.
     
  5. cyclone

    cyclone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Again !!!!
     
  6. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    cyclone
    Glad you got it fixed and also glad Tony was here to cover for me while my Son and I went for haircuts.
    Have a good Day. We will consider thread resolved.
    Dave
     
  7. cyclone

    cyclone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks if fixed that problem and recreated another .My desktop icon want let me click on them again I found a way around but dont understand why it wooks . I open C:\command.PIF and every thing on desktop will work again would really like resolve this problem for good . Again Thanks
     
  8. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Cyclone
    You mentioned this problem was recreated? Was it there before and now surfaced again? Releasing the homepage lock in IE should not have created this problem. I would suggest you start a new posts in the Windows 95/98/me section explaining the history of this problem and of course the work around you have. Many will not relook at this homepage post since it is resolved. You will have better luck with a new post.
    Dave
     
  9. cyclone

    cyclone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Dave I will repost with a new reply. Yes the problem was there before and you helped me with it. Now it seens to have reappeared . I dont have time right now on the way out will try to repost latter .
     
  10. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Cyclone
    Yes I remember now. Sorry a Senior moment I guess. Let me know once you create the new post. I have some ideas on what may be going on.
    Dave
     
  11. cyclone

    cyclone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Hey dave I just made a new post under desktop or start up problem
     
  12. cyclone

    cyclone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Hey dave I just made a new post under desktop or start up problem
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65474

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice