[Resolved] Problem trying to changre home page

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cyclone

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Messages
17
Do not know how to change the setting on internet explore .The problem is when I go to internet option and the place were you change your home page it is grayed out and it will not let me change .I am running 98ME Thanks for any Help
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Cyclone
Some ISP's provide a customized version of IE. One of the customizations they might make is to disable the ability to change the home page, so that you are forced to use their home page. You can re-enable this by making a small change in the Windows registry.

Make sure you back up the registry before proceeding.
Backup registry to desktop
NOTE:
PLEASE do a backup of the registry before applying this fix. To do a backup, go to Start|Run and type in REGEDIT and in the "Registry" drop dowm menu, select "Export Registry" and make sure the ALL button is marked.


In Regedit, navigate to this key:

KEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel

Let us know if that fixes it.
Dave

In the right-hand pane, right-click the "HomePage" value, then select Modify. Change it to:
00 00 00 00
When you reboot, you should be able to change the home page again.

Also
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q195161
 

cyclone

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Messages
17
Thanks Davey that took care of the problem . Do I need to leave the registry on the desk top ? Again Thanks a whole lot .
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
cyclone
Glad you got it fixed and also glad Tony was here to cover for me while my Son and I went for haircuts.
Have a good Day. We will consider thread resolved.
Dave
 

cyclone

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Messages
17
Thanks if fixed that problem and recreated another .My desktop icon want let me click on them again I found a way around but dont understand why it wooks . I open C:\command.PIF and every thing on desktop will work again would really like resolve this problem for good . Again Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Cyclone
You mentioned this problem was recreated? Was it there before and now surfaced again? Releasing the homepage lock in IE should not have created this problem. I would suggest you start a new posts in the Windows 95/98/me section explaining the history of this problem and of course the work around you have. Many will not relook at this homepage post since it is resolved. You will have better luck with a new post.
Dave
 

cyclone

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 1, 2002
Messages
17
Thanks Dave I will repost with a new reply. Yes the problem was there before and you helped me with it. Now it seens to have reappeared . I dont have time right now on the way out will try to repost latter .
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Cyclone
Yes I remember now. Sorry a Senior moment I guess. Let me know once you create the new post. I have some ideas on what may be going on.
Dave
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top