1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

{RESOLVED}Problem With New Hard Drive

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by porgai, Apr 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. porgai

    porgai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    I just purchased a Back-up Q USB case for external hard drive and an MDT 120 GB hard drive and assembled them as instructed. I then plugged it into my PC and WinXP-Pro recognized it as a new hardware but it did not show as a hard drive; therefore I couldn't format it. That means I can't use it. Is there anything I can do to be able to access this drive? Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

    porgai
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    Go to control panel, admin tools, computer management, is it showing up under removalable storage or diskmanagement
     
  3. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Where are you looking for it? In My Computer?
    Before it will have a drive letter, you will need to partition it. Right-click My Computer, choose Manage and then Manage. You should see the drive listed here and it should allow you to partition and then format it.
     
  4. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    brianF beat me!
     
  5. punjabian263

    punjabian263

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    358
    1 way is, insert the cd of winxp in cd rom to install it. when xp asks where you want to install it and gives options, just format the unpartitioned space as you like with ntfs(recommended) or fat32. don't install furthur.
    2 way only attach the newly harddisk with system, and insert the cd of win98 or winme, to just format it.
     
  6. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    There's really no need to use an OS cd to format this drive.
     
  7. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Its a backup drive and the proper way to format is through disk management as Brian referred to earlier without haveing to install an operating system .
     
  8. porgai

    porgai Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    I did as Brian suggested and it is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you so much.

    porgai
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/219145

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice