[Resolved] Problem with open with.....

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sifter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2001
Messages
434
Hi

I made a bit of a muck up this morning and now im stuck. I wanted to open a file so I could read the contents , so I opened it with note book but the little box at the bottom was ticked ..ooopsss. So now i want to put it back to normal because all other files similar to that one i opened are all now notebooks. LOL. Does anyone know how I can re store them back to normal. It was a game and the files where the tracks wich where .env files , I tried uninstalling the game and re installing it but they still come out the same ie icon like a notebook. The files or tracks still work in the game but because i upload them on to the internet I want them to be the proper file.


Any one think that they can help me restore my old .env files back to normal.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 1999
Messages
243
Just highlight the .env file with one left click, then hold down the shift key whilst right clicking on the file and select open with... then just reassociate the file with the game( or whatever program that was reading those files before).
 

sifter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2001
Messages
434
But no joy , the files then all look like the motocross icon that Im using. The files that I want them to look like are normal windows type file like some u can see in windows/system ie the white ones with the windows logo in the middle.

Any more ideas
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
You created a file association. You were never able to open these files before? and they had the generic Windows icon. Go to start>run and type regedit. Press enter
In the registry go to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\env
Right click on env and delete.


Back up your registry before you do this. If you remove the wrong entry you can restore to where you were.


Go to start>run and type


regedit /e reg.reg Press enter

To place a copy of the registry on the desktop named reg.reg
Double click on this to go back to where you were if you delelte something by accident.
 

sifter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2001
Messages
434
why delete the .env file...what will that do and will all my files be corrupt ie the .env files. Then how do I restore ...also not sure how to back it up.


I wont carry on till 100% positive of what im doing.
 

sifter

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 19, 2001
Messages
434
If I delete the env file in the regestry I would have to reinstall the game right so then all the original env files on the game would be the proper ones when re installed correct.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
You are not deleting a file. You are deleting a file association made in error. That was not there before you did what you did. By performing this, you are putting things back. Follow these directions and back up the registry before you do it.
If you don't do anything, there will be no problem. Windows will know what to do with these files. You simply have added an association so that you can view them.
The same thing happens when people try to open dat files and make a file association. You remove the extension from the registry and everything is as it was before. These are special files which are not supposed to be viewed by the user.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Originally posted by sifter
Thx bro, it worked
Hi Sifter,

Did it ever occur to you, you could possibly be talking to a 'sis'? :D

And one question for you, Mo:


I've heard about running 'regedit /e reg.reg', but can this always be used, rather than going to MS-DOS for a scanreg /restore?

I've always hesitated to advise someone to use it.

Thanks,
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Tony,
In this case the answer is yes.

Here's the difference. Scanreg /restore removes the present version of the registry totally and replaces it with another copy.


Double clicking on an exported registry merges it back into the current registry. When you merge an entire registry you enter the information contined in that registry. In this case, the person would have been removing entries. If a mistake was made and the wrong key deleted, this would have done the job.


If a value is changed, merging will change it back.
If a value has been removed, merging will reenter it.
If, however, a new value has been created>> merging will not remove that new value.

The same goes for keys.

Anything which existed in the exported registry is put back the way it was. Additions are not removed.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Mo,

Of course you're right!

I forgot we were really talking about importing one (admittedly very large) reg key....

Thanks,
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top