[Resolved] problems at startup

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Excursus

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
17
This is my first post, but this problem is really bothering me because I can't get my computer to work properly. (Right now, I'm on a friend's to type this)

Whenver I start up my computer (Win98 SE) it will either load up pretty much properly but then, starting from the top of my Close Program box and going down, programs start stop responding until finally my computer freezes. The other situations that are occuring now are that the computer will load to a certain point and the screen will go black with a little white blinking curser or the screen will just go onto its standby mode and turning it on and off doesn't do anything to help.

Safe mode works fine, but no matter what I try, I can't get regular mode to work.

Thanks for any help.
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Hi Excursus,and welcome to TSG.Go into safe mode,click run>type in Msconfig>click ok.Click on startup tab>remove the check marks next to all the programs except the following,

Scan Registry
System Tray

Click apply>then ok>reboot.

Let us know if that helps.
 

Excursus

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
17
I did what you suggested, but the screen still goes onto standby mode. It seems as if the computer is working but I just can't see anything because the lights for Number, Scroll, and Caps Locks work when I hit their respective keys, (they don't work when the computer is frozen). I've never had a problem with the screen like this before.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I'm not quite sure what you are saying. Is it always in this monitor standby mode now that you've done that in msconfig? Obviously it wasn't like that before or you wouldn't have been able to do it. Does it do that now immediately on startup or only after it has been on a while. (You can reset power management options by right clicking on the desktop and clicking the power management settings tab there. Set everything to "never")

Try pressing and holding the ctrl key immediately when starting up. You should get a "startup menu". Select Safe Mode. Does it boot to the desktop in that manner (you will have low VGA resolution and no internet access, but you can run programs).

Some Win98 "cleanbooting" instructions here:

http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/Q192/9/26.ASP
 

Excursus

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
17
The monitor goes on standby just before the time of startup when the network profile and password would be entered. This has been happening since before I unchecked everything in msconfig. I can only get to the properties while I'm in safe mode, but safe mode doesn't allow me to change the power management options.

Yeah, I can get safe mode to work but I'm not sure what to do in it that will help.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I wasn't aware you couldn't change those properties in Safe Mode. Try this when you run msconfig: click the "advanced" tab and put a check in standard VGA 640 mode. See if it still happens and if you can change the power management properties.

Are both instances of "load power profiles" checked or unchecked in msconfig? There should be two. One of them controls the enabling of power management before the log in process, and one after.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;187611

You might also try going to the Device Manager and try either checking "disable in this hardware profile" under the properties > settings page for Advanced Power Management. Or try removing and reinstalling it following the directions here:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;en-us;q188134
 

Excursus

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
17
ok. I put it in VGA 640 mode and regular windows loaded properly, but with safe mode's ugly colors and large size, so I then removed the check from VGA 640 and it restarted properly and now everything seems to be working. Though I'm sure something will go wrong in the next day or so, thank you very much for your help. This site is great.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
What can I say... :)

I'll put a tentative "resolved" on this but if your luck doesn't hold up, just post back and let us know.
 

Excursus

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
17
Well, it worked for about 10 minutes. At least I can get into regular windows and everything looks all pretty, but if I bring up internet explorer, or a windows explorer window, the hourglass/loading symbol get stuck as does everything (including the num, caps, scroll lock lights) except for the mouse (I can move it, but can't make anything work).

I left it on for an hour or so just to see if it would magically become unfreezed on its own. no luck, so I ctrl+alt+delteted it which did nothing so I pressed it again, got the blue "system busy waiting for close box" screen. when I hit "any key" it would go back to the desktop with the box showing that the program I was currently using has stopped responding. Then this will repeat over and over again until it just totally freezes for good.

Everything is unchecked in the msconfig startup menu.

thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
You may be having a hardware problem such as overheating or faulty ram. But first, since you indicate that it is IE that is initiating the hangs, would you go to Add/Remove programs > Internet Explorer > Remove > Repair, and see if the Repair Tool is present for you and can be run successfully.

Next, if you can swing it, re-enable those startups in msconfig again and run the StartupList.exe program. Hopefully you can download it first and unzip it. Then copy/paste the results to a reply.

http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/

Also, here is a software memory tester that it would be helpful to run: http://www.simmtester.com/page/products/doc/download.asp

Once the setup program is downloaded, put a floppy in the drive that has no programs you need to save and run the setup. Then boot the floppy like a startup disk and have it run a few "burnin" loops to see if there are any failure indications.

Finally, have you ever had the case cover off to check for accumulated dust and proper operation of the fan?
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2003
Messages
3
Hi,

I'm a new member, but I had to register to post about this problem. I've been having a similar problem to this.

When I startup Win98 it runs through the startup procedure ok, but after about a minute the monitor goes into standby mode (I believe the OS is still running behind the blank screen, possibly with a "not responding" problem). If I reboot to safe mode, then restart again it's ok.

This problem came about due to a mistake I made updating my Nvidia Geforce 3 drivers. I forgot to uninstall the old ones first and although I've done some serious back-tracking to try and delete all traces, reverting to standard VGA drivers, then reinstalling, I'm still experiencing the monitor/ graphics card shutdown problem.

I'm positive it's related to the drivers but haven't yet figured out how I'm going to solve it other than lots and lots of uninstalling, deleting, reinstalling and rebooting.:mad:

Point is, your problem could be related to my graphics card one. It sounds very similar.

Havoc
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
havoc, thanks for your contribution; I would normally split such a post, if it is a request for help, off to a new thread. But since you raise an important issue, I'm going to give a link that gives the most thorough instructions available that I've seen for removing all traces of a former Video driver installaiton, and reinstalling fresh ones:


http://www3.sk.sympatico.ca/forte/videocrd.html
 

Excursus

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
17
I tried the repair tool, but that didn't appear to do anything. I am going to install the startup program, but I'm having a friend burn me a copy of it onto a CD (because I can't get on the net) so that step will commence as soon as I get it. To answer your question, I have not taken the case of since I bought the computer couple of years ago.

Thanks Havoc. I do indeed have an nVidia card. Luckily, the msconfig -> advanced -> VGA60 thing worked and I haven't had any problems since.
 

Excursus

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 7, 2003
Messages
17
ok, I finally got the program. I selected everything in the startup thing even though I know a bunch of them aren't required. I figured it would be better to do that than be missing something. so, here is what the program came up with:

StartupList report, 1/12/03, 8:03:36 PM
StartupList version: 1.50
Started from : C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST15[1]\STARTUPLIST.EXE
Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
* Using default options
==================================================

Running processes:

C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\CPQDIAG\CPQDFWAG.EXE
C:\COMPAQ\INTERNET\ISDBDC.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SA3DSRV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WEBSCANX.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WEBSVR\SYSTEM\INETSW95.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\STARTER.EXE
C:\COMPAQ\CPQINET\CPQINET.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
C:\CPQS\BWTOOLS\SCCENTER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MOTIVE\MOTIVEASSISTANT\MOTMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
C:\MOUSE\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\BTTNSERV.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\CPQEADM.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\D-TOOLS\DAEMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT MONEY\SYSTEM\REMINDER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\RSNET\RSEDNCLIENT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\ON-SCREEN DISPLAY\OSD.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\TRILLIAN\TRILLIAN.EXE
C:\CPQS\BACKWEB\PROGRAM\BACKWEB.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\RNATHCHK.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMP.EXE
C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST15[1]\STARTUPLIST.EXE

--------------------------------------------------

Listing of startup folders:

Shell folders Startup:
[C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
GStartup.lnk = C:\Program Files\Common Files\GMT\GMT.exe

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

ScanRegistry = c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
EnsoniqMixer = starter.exe
VsecomrEXE = C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSECOMR.EXE
OEMCLEANUP = C:\windows\OPTIONS\oemreset.exe
CPQInet Runtime Service = c:\compaq\CPQInet\CpqInet.exe
QuickTime Task = "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
WinampAgent = "C:\Program Files\Winamp3\winampa.exe"
TaskMonitor = c:\windows\taskmon.exe
Service Connection = c:\cpqs\bwtools\sccenter.exe
AvconsoleEXE = C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
Vshwin32EXE = C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
MotiveMonitor = C:\Program Files\Motive\MotiveAssistant\motmon.exe
NvCplDaemon = RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
nwiz = nwiz.exe /install
TkBellExe = C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe -osboot
Uninstall0001 = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Totem Shared\Uninstall0001\upd.exe" LASTCALL!adverts.stripsaver.com!StatsStripSaver
Microsoft WebServer = C:\Program Files\WebSvr\System\svctrl /init
CMESys = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\CMEII\CMESYS.EXE"
Supernova = C:\WINDOWS\HELLO-KITTY.exe
EM_EXEC = c:\mouse\system\em_exec.exe
McAfeeWebScanX = C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.Exe
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Init = A3dInit.exe
VsStatEXE = C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING
CPQEASYACC = C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\cpqeadm.exe
EACLEAN = C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\eaclean.exe
3dfx Tools = rundll32.exe 3dfxCmn.dll,UpdateRegSettings
DAEMON Tools-1033 = "C:\Program Files\D-Tools\daemon.exe" -lang 1033

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
CPQDFWAG = C:\WINDOWS\cpqdiag\CpqDfwAg.exe
isdbdc = c:\compaq\internet\isdbdc.exe
HC Reminder = hc.exe
Aureal A3D Interactive Audio = sa3dsrv.exe
Vshwin32EXE = C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
McAfeeWebScanX = C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.Exe /RUNSERVICES
LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
Microsoft WebServer = C:\Program Files\WebSvr\System\inetsw95.exe -w3svc

--------------------------------------------------

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

Reminder = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\reminder.exe
Red Swoosh EDN Client = C:\Program Files\RSNet\RSEDNClient.exe
GoogleDCClient = C:\Program Files\GoogleDCC\GoogleDCC.exe -startup

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Active Setup stub paths:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components
(* = disabled by HKCU twin)

[{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}

[>PerUser_MSN_Clean] *
StubPath = c:\windows\msnmgsr1.exe

[PerUser_LinkBar_URLs] *
StubPath = c:\windows\COMMAND\sulfnbk.exe /L

[{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}

[{7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exe advpack.dll,UserInstStubWrapper {7790769C-0471-11d2-AF11-00C04FA35D02}

[{44BBA851-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}] *
StubPath = rundll32.exeadvpack.dll

[>IEPerUser] *
StubPath = RUNDLL32.EXE IEDKCS32.DLL,BrandIE4 SIGNUP

[{9EF0045A-CDD9-438e-95E6-02B9AFEC8E11}] *
StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\updcrl.exe -e -u C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\verisignpub1.crl

--------------------------------------------------

Load/Run keys from C:\WINDOWS\WIN.INI:

load=
run=

--------------------------------------------------

Shell & screensaver key from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM.INI:

Shell=Explorer.exe
SCRNSAVE.EXE=
drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for EXPLORER.EXE instances:

C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe: PRESENT!

C:\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Explorer.exe: not present
C:\WINDOWS\Command\Explorer.exe: not present

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
(Created 12/1/2003, 13:35:12)

[Rename]
NUL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\SET30B1.TMP

--------------------------------------------------

C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

@ECHO OFF
@REM Setup for QR, BW & HIBERNATE
@PATH C:\CPQS\SAVEREST;C:\CPQS\TOOLS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\WINDOWS;%PATH%
@IF EXIST C:\APPL.ZIP\*.* IF EXIST C:\WINDOWS\SMARTDRV.EXE C:\WINDOWS\SMARTDRV.EXE
@IF EXIST C:\CPQS\SAVEREST\QRSETUP.* CALL C:\CPQS\SAVEREST\QRSETUP /MFG C: D: E: F:
SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 H7 P330 T6
SET SBPCI=C:\SBPCI
@PATH C:\CPQS\SAVEREST;C:\CPQS\TOOLS;C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND;C:\WINDOWS;%PATH%
C:\PROGRA~1\NETWOR~1\MCAFEE~1\SCAN.EXE C:\
@IF ERRORLEVEL 1 PAUSE
SET PATH=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WBEM;%PATH%
SET PATH=%PATH%;C:\PROGRA~1\NETWOR~1\MCAFEE~1
CALL C:\CPQS\TOOLS\WINPATH.BAT
CALL C:\CPQS\TOOLS\WINPATH.BAT

--------------------------------------------------

C:\CONFIG.SYS listing:

DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE NOEMS
DOS=HIGH,UMB,AUTO
FILESHIGH=80
BUFFERSHIGH=40,4
DEVICEHIGH=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CPQIDECD.SYS /D:IDECD001
SET BOTD=C:
SHELL=C:\COMMAND.COM /P /E:2048

--------------------------------------------------

C:\WINDOWS\DOSSTART.BAT listing:

@echo off
c:\mouse\mouse.exe
C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\MSCDEX.EXE /D:IDECD001 /M:12
C:\SBPCI\SBINIT

--------------------------------------------------

Checking for superhidden extensions:

.lnk: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.pif: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.exe: not hidden
.com: not hidden
.bat: not hidden
.hta: not hidden
.scr: not hidden
.shs: HIDDEN!
.shb: HIDDEN!
.vbs: not hidden
.vbe: not hidden
.wsh: not hidden
.scf: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: NO!)
.url: HIDDEN! (arrow overlay: yes)
.js: not hidden
.jse: not hidden

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

(no name) - c:\windows\downloaded program files\googletoolbar_en_1.1.66-deleon.dll - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7}

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

Tune-up Application Start.job
Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
Maintenance-ScanDisk.job

--------------------------------------------------

Enumerating Download Program Files:

[Shockwave Flash Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

[Hotmail Attachments Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\HMATCHMT.OCX
CODEBASE = http://lw11fd.law11.hotmail.msn.com/activex/HMAtchmt.ocx

[Windows Media Player]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
CODEBASE = http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/mplayer/en/nsmp2inf.cab

[{018B7EC3-EECA-11D3-8E71-0000E82C6C0D}]
CODEBASE = http://www.mp3s4free.net/MP3Search.exe

[QuickTime Object]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

[Shockwave ActiveX Control]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\DIRECTOR\SWDIR.DLL
CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab

[Update Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37573.8059259259

[CoGSManager Class]
InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\GSMANAGER.DLL
CODEBASE = http://gamingzone.ubisoft.com/packages/GSManager.cab

--------------------------------------------------
End of report, 11,101 bytes
Report generated in 0.320 seconds

Command line options:
/verbose - to add additional info on each section
/complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
/force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
/forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
/forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
/history - to list version history only
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top