1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] stack fault in kernel32.dll

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by riverat, Jan 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. riverat

    riverat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Every time I use some of the desk top shortcuts I get an illegal operation error message.Then the computer locks up and i have to turn it off manually. I've read some of the past post and have tried some of the fixes, but nothing seems to help.
    Please help.


    Thanks




    IEXPLORE caused a stack fault in module KERNEL32.DLL at 017f:bff7429f.
    Registers:
    EAX=81773654 CS=017f EIP=bff7429f EFLGS=00000287
    EBX=0054ff10 SS=0187 ESP=00552044 EBP=0000803c
    ECX=c16d66c0 DS=0187 ESI=0077aa30 FS=4aef
    EDX=00017ce4 ES=0187 EDI=0000ffff GS=0000
    Bytes at CS:EIP:
    eb 95 8b 54 24 04 50 e8 04 00 00 00 58 c2 04 00
    Stack dump:
    bff71547 00000000 6801618f 00000504 00552074 680161a1 00000504 ffffffeb 00000000 00000006 00000000 6801618f 00552094 680161e1 00000504 0000040a
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Welcome to TSG, riverrat.

    These types of errors are almost always caused by program conflicts. One I've seen specifically that causes the "stack fault" error in kernel32.dll is the presence of scanner software being loaded through the win.ini file. You can check for this, by going to Start>Run and entering win.ini so that it opens in Notepad.

    Do you see this line:

    load=C:\TBridge\Flatbed.exe

    We can also have a more thorough look at what is running (always a good idea) if you get the StartupList application from the site below. Download, unzip and run it. Then copy/paste the results to a reply.

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/
     
  3. riverat

    riverat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Rollin,

    Here is the win.ini file, I will post the startup list as soon as I can get it copied.


    [windows]
    load=
    Run=
    NullPort=None
    UninstallPath=C:\
    device=HP DeskJet 840C Series,hpf9xdr0,LPT1:
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Didn't really need all of win.ini (and I've edited out the extraneous material) but it's not the problem, the run= and load= lines are empty.

    It's easy to post the Startuplist, after running it, just click Edit>Select All>Edit>Copy and then right click on a reply window here and select "paste".
     
  5. riverat

    riverat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Sorry this took so long. Had to work then find a missing dll file to get it to run. I'm SO glad you guys are here.

    I have run spybot, and it says nothing found

    StartupList report, 1/18/03, 2:25:23 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WINMODEM.101\wmexe.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TASKMON.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\AHEAD\INCD\INCD.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\PALM\HOTSYNC.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WZQKPICK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WEBSHOTS\WEBSHOTSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\CWD3DSND.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Listing of startup folders:

    Shell folders Startup:
    [C:\WINDOWS\Start Menu\Programs\StartUp]
    HotSync Manager.lnk = C:\Palm\HOTSYNC.EXE
    WinZip Quick Pick.lnk = C:\Program Files\WinZip\WZQKPICK.EXE
    Webshots.lnk = C:\Program Files\Webshots\WebshotsTray.exe
    PowerReg Scheduler.exe
    Crystal 3D Audio Control.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\CWD3DSND.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    TaskMonitor = C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    InCD = C:\Program Files\ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
    NAV Agent = C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAPW32.EXE
    LoadQM = loadqm.exe
    MediaLoads Installer = "C:\Program Files\DownloadWare\dw.exe" /H
    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    SchedulingAgent = mstask.exe
    winmodem = WINMODEM.101\wmexe.exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    ScriptBlocking = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    msnmsgr = "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /background

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 18/1/2003, 7:56:22)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~msstfqf.t\acmsetup.exe
    NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~msstfqf.t\acmsetup.hlp
    NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~msstfqf.t\mssetup.dll
    NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~msstfqf.t\pub4stp.dll
    NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~msstfqf.t\pub4.stf
    NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~msstfqf.t\pub4.inf
    NUL=C:\~MSSETUP.T\~msstfqf.t\_MSSETUP._Q_

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    PATH C:\98CD\TOOLS\RESKIT\HELP;%PATH%
    SET BLASTER=A220 I11 D1 T4
    if exist C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat call C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat
    if exist C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat del C:\WININST0.400\SuWarn.Bat

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job
    Maintenance-ScanDisk.job
    Maintenance-Defragment programs.job
    Maintenance-Disk cleanup.job
    Symantec NetDetect.job
    Norton AntiVirus - Scan my computer.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [CV3 Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R945/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 4,417 bytes
    Report generated in 0.376 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
    .
     
  6. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Adding the line :-

    MinSPs=8

    To the [386enh] section of your SYSTEM.INI file may help

    steam
     
  7. riverat

    riverat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    This is how the system file reads now.
    it still gives me the error when I click on desktop icons, my computer, my documents, recycle bin, internet explore. I also get the error messege if I click on a link on a web site

    [boot]
    system.drv=system.drv
    drivers=mmsystem.dll power.drv
    user.exe=user.exe
    gdi.exe=gdi.exe
    sound.drv=mmsound.drv
    dibeng.drv=dibeng.dll
    comm.drv=comm.drv
    shell=Explorer.exe
    keyboard.drv=keyboard.drv
    fonts.fon=vgasys.fon
    fixedfon.fon=vgafix.fon
    oemfonts.fon=vgaoem.fon
    386Grabber=vgafull.3gr
    display.drv=pnpdrvr.drv
    mouse.drv=mouse.drv
    *DisplayFallback=0
    SCRNSAVE.EXE=C:\WINDOWS\WEBSHOTS.SCR

    [keyboard]
    subtype=
    type=4
    keyboard.dll=
    oemansi.bin=

    [boot.description]
    keyboard.typ=Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
    aspect=100,96,96
    display.drv=Intel740-854 Win9x PC1.5 3.1.1629-980429
    mouse.drv=Standard mouse
    system.drv=Standard PC

    [386Enh]
    ebios=*ebios
    device=*vshare
    device=*dynapage
    device=*vpd
    device=*int13
    mouse=*vmouse, msmouse.vxd
    woafont=dosapp.fon
    device=*vcd
    device=*enable
    keyboard=*vkd
    MinSPs=8

    [power.drv]

    [drivers]
    msvideo=gfxnull.drv
    wavemapper=*.drv
    MSACM.imaadpcm=*.acm
    MSACM.msadpcm=*.acm
    wave=mmsystem.dll
    midi=mmsystem.dll

    [iccvid.drv]

    [mciseq.drv]

    [mci]
    cdaudio=mcicda.drv
    sequencer=mciseq.drv
    waveaudio=mciwave.drv
    avivideo=mciavi.drv
    MPEGVideo=mciqtz.drv
    videodisc=mcipionr.drv
    vcr=mcivisca.drv
    MPEGVideo2=mciqtz.drv
    QTWVideo=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MCIQTW.DRV

    [NonWindowsApp]
    TTInitialSizes=4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 18 20 22

    [vcache]

    [nwnp32]

    [MSNP32]

    [display]

    [Password Lists]
    DALE=C:\WINDOWS\DALE.PWL

    [drivers32]
    VIDC.IV41=ir41_32.ax
    msacm.msg711=msg711.acm
    vidc.CVID=iccvid.dll
    VIDC.IV31=ir32_32.dll
    VIDC.IV32=ir32_32.dll
    vidc.MSVC=msvidc32.dll
    VIDC.MRLE=msrle32.dll
    MSACM.MSNAUDIO=msnaudio.acm
    VIDC.IV50=ir50_32.dll
    msacm.iac2=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IAC25_32.AX
    msacm.lhacm=lhacm.acm
    VIDC.VDOM=vdowave.drv
    msacm.msaudio1=msaud32.acm
    msacm.sl_anet=sl_anet.acm
    msacm.l3acm=l3codeca.acm
    vidc.mpg4=mpg4c32.dll
    vidc.mp43=mpg4c32.dll
    msacm.voxacm160=vct3216.acm
    msacm.msg723=msg723.acm
    vidc.M263=msh263.drv
    vidc.M261=msh261.drv
    MSACM.imaadpcm=imaadp32.acm
    MSACM.msadpcm=msadp32.acm
    MSACM.msgsm610=msgsm32.acm
    MSACM.trspch=tssoft32.acm

    [TTFontDimenCache]
    0 4=2 4
    0 5=3 5
    0 6=4 6
    0 7=4 7
    0 8=5 8
    0 9=5 9
    0 10=6 10
    0 11=7 11
    0 12=7 12
    0 13=8 13
    0 14=8 14
    0 15=9 15
    0 16=10 16
    0 18=11 18
    0 20=12 20
    0 22=13 22
     
  8. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    I think you have added the line to the system.ini in C:\drivers\system instead of the one in C:\windows
     
  9. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Well we can't entirely rule out a conflict with the "legit" applications that are installed, but here's one that is not and needs to be removed:

    MediaLoads Installer = "C:\Program Files\DownloadWare\dw.exe" /H

    The best choice for removing this, and perhaps some other hidden stuff is Spybot. Here's a link that will tell you how to install, update and run it. Update before running and accept all the updates except for Language Tools and PGP stuff.

    http://tomcoyote.com/SPYBOT/

    If the error is repeatable after that, we'll proceed to some "clean-boot" troubleshooting using msconfig.

    By the way, if the error has begun just in the last few days (4) you might want to try restoring a previous registry BEFORE installing or running Spybot. To restore a backup registry, click Start>Shutdown>Restart in MS-DOS mode. At the c:\windows> prompt enter:

    scanreg /restore

    use your arrow keys to select a started prior registry from among the first 4 displayed. The last or fifth cannot be used.

    ( think you've got the right system.ini there, there should only be one in c:\windows and that's what you get if you followed my original instructions)
     
  10. riverat

    riverat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    this is the only system.ini the "find files" came up with
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    oops I see you said you ran Spybot, well if you just installed it don't do the scanreg /restore; run it again in Safe Mode and see if it detects download ware, it should. Is this an old or new version of Spybot, and has it been updated recently?

    To start in Safe Mode, press and hold the ctrl key to get a startup menu, then select option 3
     
  12. riverat

    riverat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    I updated spybot yesterday. Just finished runing it and it didn't find the download ware. however i removed the line with hijack this. rebooted and the error still pops up.
    how do i do the "clean boot"?
    Thanks
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Go to Start>run and enter msconfig

    Under the startup tab try unchecking everything except ScanRegistry, System Tray and Load Power profiles.

    Or you can just try clearing the check for "process startup group" on the general page, reboot and test; if no error go back and selectively re check the startups under the Startup tab a few at a time until you isolate the culprit; the ones I mentioned should be problem free.

    You might also test by disabling other groups on the general page, but save that for later if you can't find anything under the startup tab.
     
  14. riverat

    riverat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Hi Rollin,
    I disabled everything exept scanregistry, system tray and load power.
    I still get the error. When I do the ctrl+alt+del key the window shows =
    Explorer
    Systray
    Rnaapp

    Is this getting weird or what?
    Is the computer going to die?
     
  15. riverat

    riverat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    How many items on the general page can i disable and still have the computer boot up?
    Config
    autoexec
    system.ini
    win.ini
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/113873

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice