1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] System Reboots Constantly

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ChuckJP, Feb 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ChuckJP

    ChuckJP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    72
    I've just finished a major overhaul to my PC. Replaced the mobo/cpu, video card and a new power supply. I put the mobo/cpu in first and it ran fine for 2 weeks. I then replaced the video card and within 2 days, added another 512mb of RAM, increasing it to 1Gb.

    My system now reboots itself in the middle of running apps or games. I don't think it is related to the mobo/cpu, I think it is related to the new video card or memory. I think it rebooted once right after I upgraded the video card, but since I've added the 512 stick, it reboots during almost every app. I guess an obvious suggestion would be to remove the new memory stick, but I'm not sure if that's the problem.

    What would cause a system to reboot? Is it running too hot? If this question is too vague, let me know what other info is needed or what else I could try. I've just made a serious investment in my system and I'm frustrated as hell right now.
     
  2. ChuckJP

    ChuckJP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    72
    System is:

    AMD 2700+ ( 333FSB )
    Gigabyte GA-7VAXP
    2 x 256 PC2700 and 1 x 512 PC2700 Crucial
    Gainward Golden Sample ti4800SE 128mb 8X AGP (new)
    GF2 MX400 32mb ( old )
    WD Caviar 60Gb 7200

    The reboot problem is still happening after putting the old video card back into the system.

    The system and CPU temp seem fine ( 48C ), but the old vid card seems hot to me. I'm not an expert, just never noticed the amount of heat the card gave off.
     
  3. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Have you tried removing the extra RAM?
     
  4. Rayman

    Rayman

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    What are you running for a power supply? That extra memory and monster video card could be putting you over the top for wattage.Do you have lots of USB items attached?

    I think you'd want at least a 350W power supply to feed your system and that beautiful video card (I'm jealous!)
     
  5. ChuckJP

    ChuckJP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks for the replies.

    I just removed the 512mb ram stick, checking to see if it runs stable now. I've gotten conflicting information on this. I have 3 DIMM slots on the board. I had 2 Crucial 256mb PC2700 sticks, had no problems. I added a Crucial 512mb PC2700 stick. I've always thought that as long as the RAM speed is the same, I can have any combination of sticks installed, as long as they are all PC2700. That's why I got the extra 512mb stick.

    I've now been told that I must have the same size in each slot ( all must be 256 or 512, etc. ). My mobo manual says that "memory size can vary between sockets", but the corresponding chart shows equal sticks in the slots in every example. I'm confused.

    My power supply is a 430w Enermax and I only have a printer and a mouse as a USB device.
     
  6. Del

    Del

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,452
    Now lets see if you system settles down..
    got my fingers crossed too.
     
  7. ChuckJP

    ChuckJP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    72
    Glad it was an easy one......

    The new Crucial stick was the culprit. Great customer service, replacement is on the way. I was glad to find out you CAN mix different sizes as long as they are the same speed.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - [Resolved] System Reboots
  1. Getahobby1
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    1,373
  2. Unlucky_Pete
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    842
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118237

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice