[Resolved] the page cannot be displayed

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

jm100dm

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 1999
Messages
994
"the page cannot be displayed"

This is what I see where there should be an ad. The ad at the top and bottom of this page show that. The problem is that my browser tries to open it and the pages often takes over a minute to load. I first discovered this on ragingbull.com where every page takes a minute(+) to load.

My info:
win98SE
IE6.0
256RAM
900 mhz

Problem may be related to Incredimail. My wife downloaded this mail program and we enjoyed the extra features but this was about when the pages started to load very slowly. I have since uninstall Incredimail but still have this problem.

Have tried the following:
scandisk
defrag
searched this site
reinstalled windows
reinstalled IE6.0(full-this only did the items that were not in bold print)

Not sure where to go from here. Have viewed source and properties of these ads for clues but I don't really know what I'm looking for.

jm100dm
 

Attachments

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Just the ads?

You're sure you don't have an ad/banner blocker running? Norton Internet Security, Webwasher?

Try this:

Shut down Internet Explorer and Outlook Express.
Go to Control Panel/Internet, and clear your temporary Internet Files.
Go to the Privacy tabs, and delete all cookies .
Now go to the Advanced tab, and click Restore Defaults.
Next, on to the Security tab, highlight 'Internet, and click restore defaults there as well.

If no you, download and install <A HREF="http://www.microsoft.com/java/vm/dl_vm40.htm">Microsoft Virtual Machine</A>.

And please post back with the results.

Good luck,
 

jm100dm

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 1999
Messages
994
Tony,
Thanks for your response. I have followed all of your suggestions and will now download virtial machine again.(Have done this in the past) I may have lost something when I uninstalled Incredimail. Ads still don't show up and take over a minute to load.

Below is all that is running from system info file. Thanks again for your help.

jm100dm

------------------------------
Kernel32.dll 4.10.2222 Microsoft Corporation Win32 Kernel core component C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Kernel32.dll 4.3 Microsoft(R) Windows(R) Operating System
MSGSRV32.EXE 4.10.2222 Microsoft Corporation Windows 32-bit VxD Message Server C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE 4.0 Microsoft(R) Windows(R) Operating System
Mprexe.exe 4.10.1998 Microsoft Corporation WIN32 Network Interface Service Process C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Mprexe.exe 4.0 Microsoft(R) Windows(R) Operating System
MMTASK.TSK 4.03.1998 Microsoft Corporation Multimedia background task support module C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MMTASK.TSK 4.0 Microsoft Windows
Explorer.exe 4.72.3110.1 Microsoft Corporation Windows Explorer C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.exe 4.0 Microsoft(R) Windows NT(R) Operating System
Systray.exe 4.10.2222 Microsoft Corporation System Tray Applet C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Systray.exe 4.0 Microsoft(R) Windows(R) Operating System
Stimon.exe 4.10.2222 Microsoft Corporation Still Image Devices Monitor C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Stimon.exe 4.0 Microsoft(R) Windows(R) Operating System
Em_exec.exe 9.00.99 Logitech Inc. Control Center C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\MOUSEWARE\SYSTEM\Em_exec.exe 4.0 MouseWare
Taskmon.exe 4.10.1998 Microsoft Corporation Task Monitor C:\WINDOWS\Taskmon.exe 4.0 Microsoft(R) Windows(R) Operating System
N32rmd.exe 1, 0, 0, 1 , n32rmd MFC Application C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\N32rmd.exe 4.0 n32rmd Application
Iamsetup.exe 2.06.3 CallWave, Inc. Internet Answering Machine C:\PROGRAM FILES\CALLWAVE\Iamsetup.exe 4.0 CallWave Service
Wmiexe.exe 5.00.1755.1 Microsoft Corporation WMI service exe housing C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Wmiexe.exe 4.0 Microsoft(R) Windows NT(R) Operating System
Iexplore.exe 6.00.2600.0000 Microsoft Corporation Internet Explorer C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\Iexplore.exe 4.0 Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
Rnaapp.exe 4.10.2222 Microsoft Corporation Dial-Up Networking Application C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Rnaapp.exe 4.0 Microsoft(R) Windows(R) Operating System
Tapisrv.exe 4.10.2222 Microsoft Corporation Microsoft® Windows(TM) Telephony Server C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\Tapisrv.exe 4.0 Microsoft(R) Windows(R) Operating System
Msinfo32.exe 4.10.2222 Microsoft Corporation MSInfo32 C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\MICROSOFT SHARED\MSINFO\Msinfo32.exe 4.0 Microsoft System Information
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
There doesn't seem anything there to really worry about, although EM_EXEC and Taskmon are unneccessary, and occasionally cause problems as well.
Would you mind very much going back to Msinfo32, and this time post the Startup programs?
 

jm100dm

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 1999
Messages
994
Tony,
I reinstalled virtial machine and IE again. No change.
msjavx86(setup for VM) was still on my computer so I did not download it again. No change yet. As per request startup listed below.

Jm100dm

-------------------------

Internet Answering Machine Startup Group "C:\Program Files\CallWave\IAMSETUP.EXE" -start
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
EM_EXEC Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\LOGITECH\MOUSEW~1\SYSTEM\EM_EXEC.EXE
Go!Zilla dial-up fix Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOZILLA\GO.EXE" /FIXRAS
TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
Norton AntiVirus Reminder Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\N32RMD.EXE /RES
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Well, that's a very lean list, as I already said before.
Just uncheck EM_EXEC, and Taskmon.

Also, come to think of it, Norton AntiVirus Reminder (N32rmd.exe) could well NOT be a Norton file according to Symantec.

Uncheck that as well, click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot.

And have your computer scanned on line at <A HREF="http://housecall.antivirus.com/">Trend Micro HouseCall </A>


If no joy,

Shut down Internet Explorer and Outlook Express.
Go to Control Panel/Internet, and clear your temporary Internet Files.
Go to the Privacy tabs, and delete all cookies .
Now go to the Advanced tab, and click Restore Defaults.
Next, on to the Security tab, highlight 'Internet, and click restore defaults there as well.

Go to Start/Find/files or folders, and search for a file called HOSTS (not HOSTS.SAM which is a sample file).
If you find it, open it and delete all web page entries.

And run IE repair, if you've got that option to check for missing and corrupted files: Description of the Internet Explorer Repair Tool

Also, do you have an antivirus running? For except this so called 'reminder' file, I don't see anything at all.

You need one, ánd you need a firewall as well.

Good luck,
 

jm100dm

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 1999
Messages
994
Tony,
I ran the virus you refered to and came up with 6 viri. Deleted them all as PC-cillin could not repair them. Yesterday I ran Norton with the most current definitions and it found nothing. Now downloading 30 day free trial of PC-cillin, I will keep that one or upgrade from Norton scan version. Download will take a while and then I will proceed with clearing files again.

I found two Host files in addition to Host.sam but do not know what program to open with. Should the whole files just get deleted? I will repost when completed.

jm100dm

---------------------
New startup list
---------------------

Internet Answering Machine Startup Group "C:\Program Files\CallWave\IAMSETUP.EXE" -start
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
Go!Zilla dial-up fix Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\GOZILLA\GO.EXE" /FIXRAS
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
It is not a good idea to run two antivirus apps simultaneously.
It may well be counterproductive, as they might dispute each other the right to do something about a detected virus.

Either update one, or disable it and remove it through add/remove software, and only then install a new antivirus.

Good luck,
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
Just open them with notepad. They are just .txt files without an extension.

It should look similar to this

# Copyright (c) 1993-1999 Microsoft Corp.
#
# This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
#
# This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
# entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
# be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
# The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
# space.
#
# Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
# lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
#
# For example:
#
# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

127.0.0.1 localhost
 

jm100dm

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 1999
Messages
994
Brooks or Tony

This is what was on the host file. The full length has several thousand entries. Can I just delete the full file? Ad-terminator seems to be the culprit, Is there any reason not to remove this program?


##
## AD-TERMINATOR - By Jeff Ledger VERSION 3.0 - 10/28/2000 ##
## ------------- ##
## ##
## ** What is Ad-Terminator? ** ##
## ##
## Ad-Terminator is a "grass roots" approach to the growing problem ##
## of banner advertisement waste on the Internet, while providing ##
## Ad-Terminator users unlimited access to .TLD's (top-level-domain) ##
## at the same time. It's your internet! Take control of it! ##
## ##
## ** Instructions: ** ##
## ##
## Place this file into your C:\windows directory and reboot. ##
## ##
## This file redirects 90% of all adverstisements to a harmless ##
## link at our webserver. You will see increased speed while ##
## browsing, due the fact that you are not downloading ad banners. ##
## ##
## Stop by our website @ http://www.ledgerlabs.com ##
## For regular updates -OR- ##
## http://terminator.ledger ##
## ##
## ##
## Want to break the domain rules and have a cool domain? ##
## Write us at [email protected] to get your own Terminator.TLD ##
## Thousands of users are enjoying less hype with Ad-Termiator ##
## ##
## By using this code you agree to indemnify Jeffrey D Ledger ##
## and Ledgerlabs, Inc. from any liability that might arise from ##
## it's use. ##
#######################################################################



127.0.0.1 localhost

###################
## HALL OF SHAME ##
###################

156.46.6.134 a.r.tv.com
156.46.6.134 a1.g.a.yimg.com
156.46.6.134 a1028.g.akamai.net
156.46.6.134 a1040.g.akamai.net
156.46.6.134 a108.g.akamai.net
156.46.6.134 a1112.g.akamai.net
156.46.6.134 a1156.g.akamai.net
156.46.6.134 a1172.g.akamaitech.net
156.46.6.134 a12.g.akamai.net


partial list of over 70000 links

jm100dm
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
Nope, that program is for blocking banner ads and I suspect that it is the culprit.

Remove the program and then just rename the hosts file to something like hosts.old instead of deleting it.
 

Brooks

Guest
Joined
Oct 30, 2001
Messages
2,323
Ok, I did a little more checking, and there is not a program to remove. Just rename the hosts file and then reboot the computer.

What has happned is that ip address they use for the redirection is out and your machine is is trying to connect to a downed site.
 

jm100dm

Thread Starter
Joined
May 26, 1999
Messages
994
Thanks for all the help. I did have a file called adterminator1.(zip file) and deleted it, also renames both host files. I now have ads:) and never thoght that would make me happy. I appreciate the time that you all spent on this.

jm100dm
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top