[Resolved] The parameter is incorrect/error message

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sybilc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2001
Messages
23
Each time that I sign on to my computer I get a box that says "Web Publishing Wizard" at the top. Then "The parameter is incorrect." Then under that it says "start" then under that. A little box that says "ok". What does this mean and how can I get rid of it. It seemed to start after installing Microsoft Greetings 2001 yet when I uninstalled it. I still get this error message box.
I'm using windows 98 and a Pentium II 400mhz.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Do this so we can take a look at your startup programs.

Click on Start>Run, key in msinfo32 and press enter.

In the Left pane, double left click on "Software Enviroment" then do the same on "Startup Programs". Now you should see your startup programs in the left pane.

Click on Edit>SelectAll and then click on Edit>Copy. Now come here and click on "PostReply". Right click in the reply window and select Paste.
 

sybilc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2001
Messages
23
Originally posted by sybilc
Each time that I sign on to my computer I get a box that says "Web Publishing Wizard" at the top. Then "The parameter is incorrect." Then under that it says "start" then under that. A little box that says "ok". What does this mean and how can I get rid of it. It seemed to start after installing Microsoft Greetings 2001 yet when I uninstalled it. I still get this error message box.
I'm using windows 98 and a Pentium II 400mhz.
 

sybilc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2001
Messages
23
Please tell me how to "Click on Start>Run, key in msinfo32 and press enter." What/where is msinfo32?
 

sybilc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2001
Messages
23
Windows Guardian Startup Group "C:\Program Files\the HelpSpot!\Fawgrd32.exe" /STARTUP
EPSON Background Monitor Startup Group C:\ESM2\Stms.exe
Internet Answering Machine Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Web Publish\WPWIZ.EXE" -start
Webshots Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Webshots\WebshotsTray.exe"
Event Reminder Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Mindscape\PrintMaster\PMREMIND.EXE" /Q
Reminder Registry (Per-User Run) C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\reminder.exe
Taskbar Display Controls Registry (Per-User Run) RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\taskmon.exe
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
EnsoniqMixer Registry (Machine Run) starter.exe
AvconsoleEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
McAfeeWebScanX Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\WebScanX.exe
Vshwin32EXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
VsStatEXE Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE
VoodooBanshee Registry (Machine Run) rundll32.exe 3DBBps.dll,BansheeLoadSettings
WinampAgent Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMPa.exe"
RealTray Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Real\RealPlayer\RealPlay.exe SYSTEMBOOTHIDEPLAYER
Extranet AutoDial Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\DeltaNet VPN Connector\AutoExt.exe
tgcmd Registry (Machine Run) C:\program files\support.com\bin\tgcmd.exe /server /nosystray
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe
winmodem Registry (Machine Service) WINMODEM.101\wmexe.exe
Vshwin32EXE Registry (Machine Service) C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Start>Run, key in Msconfig and press enter.

Click on the "Startup" tab.

Now scroll and locate the entry for "Internet Answering Machine". Now click on the checkmark next to it to Remove it. Then click on Apply, OK and follow the prompts to restart.

Do you still get that error at startup?

BTW, this is unrelated to your error at startup but are the words ExtraNet or DeltaNet familiar to you? I'm wondering what that one startup item is.
 

sybilc

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 30, 2001
Messages
23
Bryan,
Are you a genius or what?
I did what you said, and now that pesky error message is gone.
Thank you so much.

And yes, Extranet and Deltanet are both familiar to me. They are job related. They get me into the system at work.

SybilC
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top