1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

{RESOLVED}TOCA 2 - NVIDIA RIVA problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by Dawnpatrol, Jul 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dawnpatrol

    Dawnpatrol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,
    I've installed TOCA 2 and I can't get past the "setup" page. The page reads as follows:

    Device:
    NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 Model 64/ Model 64 Pro

    Version No.
    0.00.00.0000

    The game manual says I need
    4.11.01.0188 or a later version.

    I've downloaded the latest drivers from NVIDIA, but I still have the same problem. Can anybody help please??
     
  2. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    More info

    What operating system are you running

    What version of drivers are listed under display properties, settings, advanced, etc
     
  3. Dawnpatrol

    Dawnpatrol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Brian,
    I'm running Windows 2000 pro.

    Driver Provider: NVIDIA
    Driver Date: 04/06/2000
    Driver Version: 5.3.0.0

    Driver File Details:
    C:\WINNT\System32\DRIVERS\nv4_mini.sys
    C:\WINNT\System32\nv4_disp.dll
    C:\WINNT\System32\nvinstnt.dll
    C:\WINNT\System32\nvoglnt.dll

    File Version:
    5.12.01.0530
     
  4. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    I found this over at ntcompatible, they say the game will work with 2k but the registry required the following change

    Install, then change registry
    key HKLMSOFTWARECodemastersToca2CardHintIndex >from -1 to 0. This
    also helps on W98 if setup hangs. This is related to problems with
    graphics adapter.
     
  5. Dawnpatrol

    Dawnpatrol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Brian,
    thanks for your help. Whereabouts is the registry? Is that the game application?
     
  6. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    be carefull in the registry, don't wanna make any misstakes.

    Do a backup first

    start/run/regedit Go to the file menu, export, save the backup of the registry in a location you can find it again if you should need it.

    After that navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE,SOFTWARE and see if the codemaster key is there
     
  7. Dawnpatrol

    Dawnpatrol Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    :) Thanks Brian! perfecto!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - {RESOLVED}TOCA NVIDIA RIVA
  1. MattD194
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    257
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/147447

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice