(Resolved) VC++ runtime error while viewing certain web pages using iexplore.exe

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

guacman

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
47
OK, I'm getting an error, Visual C++ runtime error "abnormal termination error" in iexplore.exe when I try to view certain web pages. I at one time had C++ installed, but have since removed it. I've tried different versions of the IE, it happens with all of them. I re-installed my Windows 89 SE. I don't have any extra programs running in the background. (unchecked in msconfig) Help!
Dave G.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya and welcome

Lets see if this helps:

Tools | Internet Options. Advanced tab. Scroll to Disable script debugging. Tick that. Underneath that is Display a notification..... Untick that.

Apply and OK.

Regards

eddie
 

guacman

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
47
I wish it was that easy, but I tried monkey-ing with those script/debugging settings. I thought that would have been a good idea, but it didn't work. Any other ideas, I'm fresh out of them.
Dave
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Okay

Now, you say this happens only on certain websites. Can you name them? If not, you can PM them to me.

Also, which version of IE are you running and have you got all the latest updates? Does the error come with anything else? For example:

Runtime error

Program C:\Progra~1\Micros~1\Office\Msaccess.exe

abnormal program termination

Thats just an example, mind.

eddie
 

guacman

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
47
As far as the specific sites, I'll have to get them to you on Monday (The computer is at work) Its running the latest version, 6. It did the same thing with 5.1 and 5.5. Once and a while it happens while running Morpheus as well. (When it loads certain advertising banners.)
Dave
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Okay, I'll wait for the sites, but did it have any of the error wording like the example I gave?

I may suggest Spyware, but you say you've reinstalled Windows. You may have some programs which are conflicting.

What I'll do is, when you get the sites, I'll view them and see if I get the same. btw, are you using a different PC at the moment? If so, can you have a go at entering the sites at home and see if the error come up?

Are you running any other programs at the same time?

eddie
 

guacman

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 7, 2001
Messages
47
Ok, I do believe I figured out the problemo, after weeks of (casual) searching! I have a small group of computers that were experiencing this same problem at work (I work in a school). Yesterday I went to find a site that would give me the error, and one of the ones I could remember actually loaded no problem, and did NOT give me the error. Dumbfounded, I went to another computer to see if it still had te error on that page, and it DID. Hmmm, well, I did notice that a program I had running in the background that I downloaded to restrict internt content had been disabled (by me) on the original computer. So when I disabled it on the other computer, IT WORKED. The program can be found here: http://www.zdnet.com/downloads/stories/info/0,10615,43831,00.html

It's called Webkeys Prowler 4.01

The description says it is compatible with IE 4.0, some I'm curious to see if it gives the same error using that version. The site that I tested for the error was:
http://www.cablemax.com/cablemax/all-patch-cables.cfm

I'm not sure why the program causes an error to occur in iexplore.exe, but anyway, theres the solution.

Thanks for your help
Dave
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Well, you figured it out, and now I know what caused it, I'll keep that one in my head.

See Ya

eddie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top