{RESOLVED}VHS to CD-R W?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ruffnredy

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 2003
Messages
280
Don't know if this is the right forum; is there a way to transfer VHS to a CD and visa-versa? What equip. is needed. what program, and how do you hook up the VHS player to the computer?
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
You need a capture card to convert the analog video to digital. You can usually connect directly from the camera to the card. If you computer happens to have a TV card it will usually suffice as a capture card.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
I don’t really know. If you have VCDs you likely have a DVD entertainment player. I would think you could take the analog out from the player to the VHS recorder. If your only player is in your computer I think you would need a video card with TV out.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2001
Messages
447
to do any of that you will need a video editing software like adobe premier, a ton of ram(1 gb minimum) and a lot of hd space. raw video, like you will get from a vhs, takes up 4gb/15 min. you will need a video card with tv out as well as a good sound card that has stereo output and will need to hook a vcr up to your pc. if you are going to put it in cd make sure that any dvd players you have are compatible with the vcd format or they will only be playable on your pc and be ready to spend a lot of time - depending on the speed of your cpu it can take hours to get an hour of video converted from raw to compressed mode.

Gavi, Certified Photographic Counselor and Nikon Advanced System Specialist
 

ruffnredy

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 16, 2003
Messages
280
Well, that certainly killed that idea! Sounded good on paper though. Thanks people.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
I have successfully transferred from VHS to VCD (MPEG1) using a 2 GHz P4, 512 MB RAM and a GF4 MX460 video card with Vi/Vo.

I first transferred to a HDD (yes, need plenty of space) and then to VCD using Nero.

Thats a low-res solution admittedly. The original had been dubbed to VHS from 8mm movie film, and the tapes were getting past their "use by" date. At least now they are captured in digital for quite a few years.

I have also seen it done with a $50 video capture card on a Celeron 1.3 MHz machine with 256 MB RAM. As long as nothing else was running, it didn't skip many frames. That was the low limit of configuration needed.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top