1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] virus-backdoor trojan

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by lord_8383, Dec 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lord_8383

lord_8383 Thread Starter

I have 3 backdoor trojan virus on my ME System in quarantine and I would like to know how to get rid of these nasty things. I think I need the files. the 3 are: OLDER,exe Location:, windows #2 Explorer.exe Location:, C;windows\explorer\ and, #3 explorer[1].exe location: c:windows\tempory. Please make the explanation simple as I am a novice and an old one at that. Thanks in advance. ( I have Norton Anti Virus and Zone Alarm installed now. )

2. SavvyLady

SavvyLady

run the Norton antivirus & let it locate & hopefully quarintine the trojans

how did you find out you had them?

3. Rollin' Rog

Rollin' Rog

4. lord_8383

lord_8383 Thread Starter

Hello Savvylady and Rollin'Rog:

Thanks for your replys: Savvylady: I got the three back door virus by running Norotn Anti-Virus Progrom. ( Please see my original post) ( Named them them, that is) Rolling'Rog: I don't understand how I can be operating Windows Exployer with them guys in quarantine either. Should I delete them ? What happens then? Will My system work? I understand I'm limited in words to express my frustration and am confident that you two will see me through this mess. Thanks to both of you. Jim

5. SavvyLady

SavvyLady

6. Rollin' Rog

Rollin' Rog

Your file location:

#2 Explorer.exe Location:, C;windows\explorer\

seems to indicate there is a FOLDER explorer in the Windows directory with an infected explorer.exe within it.

If this is the case AND there is an uninfected copy of explorer.exe in c:\windows