1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] when i right click on a file or short cut i get 2 add to zips

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Chunter, Jan 21, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chunter

    Chunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    see the picture and you'll see what i mean, how do i restore it back to one of each ,
    Thx Chunter
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I nicked this one from Mosaic1:

    Good luck,
     
  3. Martyhfl

    Martyhfl

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Sounds like you have Winzip installed, one of the features is you can hightlight files, then right click and add the to a zip file.
     
  4. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    To expand on what Tony showed you: Did you use either the older version of TWEAKUI or that registry hack which is all over the Internet to remove the arrows from your shortcuts?If you removed the IsShortcut entry in the lnkfile key, this is one of the side effects. Double context menus.
    The new TWEAKUI uses a new method to remove the arrows.
    Installing the new TweakUI will repair this for you too. I just tested it to be sure. Download Here and follow the install instructions. Reboot for the change to take effect.
    http://www.windows-help.net/windows98/tweakui2000.shtml


    Or. If you need any more help navigating the registry, post back.

    EDIT: Thanks Tony. I think I need to go to bed. I repaired it.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Mo,

    Your link's acting a bit weird.

    I take it you mean <A HREF="http://www.microsoft.com/ntworkstation/downloads/PowerToys/Networking/NTTweakUI.asp">Tweak UI 1.33 </A>?
     
  6. Chunter

    Chunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    no joy with tweakui,looked for the registry entry but its not in mine, use regedit and norton regedit, still does it ....spose i'll have to live with it
     
  7. Signature

    Signature

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    650
    <font face="comic sans ms" color="#577ac6">That's a lowercase "L" in the</font> lnkfile <font face="comic sans ms" color="#577ac6">part of </font>HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\lnkfile<font face="comic sans ms" color="#577ac6"> - (</font>Lnkfile<font face="comic sans ms" color="#577ac6">).
    Scroll a little further down the list beneath the </font>HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT <font face="comic sans ms" color="#577ac6">hive, until you come to the L's.
    You should find the </font> lnkfile <font face="comic sans ms" color="#577ac6">key listed there.</font>
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Look in the registry under the following key and see if there are multiple instances of the winzip entry:


    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shellex\ContextMenuHandlers\WinZip


    There will also be a similar entry in HKLM, this is normal
     
  9. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Do something for me please? It's possible that key was changed to read IsNotShortcut and TWEAKUI couldn't repair that one.
    Go to the computer and find the key:
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\lnkfile
    Click on lnkfile (not the plus sign)
    Go to the toolbar>registry>export registry file

    Export it to the desktop. This makes a copy of the file with the .reg extension. Change the name to link.txt
    At the bottom of the reply here, you'll see ATTACH FILE
    Please attach link.txt to a post here. I would like to have a look at it.
     
  10. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    One other step which is necessary is to reboot. Did you do that? If not the menu change won't appear. I just created the same problem on omine so you could see it. I have my WinZip entries set up to cascade. That's why it looks a bit different than your picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Chunter

    Chunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    Mosaic1 here's the text you wanted
     

    Attached Files:

    • link.txt
      File size:
      577 bytes
      Views:
      87
  12. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Yes. You are missing that IsShortcut entry. Strange that Tweakui didn't install it. I removed that line from my registry and reinstalled TweakUI. It added it, The command is in the inf file.

    At any rate, I am attaching a reg file to fix it. Download it. Rename lnkfile.txt as lnkfile.reg.
    Double click on it to enter into the registry. Reboot.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Chunter

    Chunter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    78
    yep that's done the job perfectly,thanks very much

    Chunter
     
  14. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Chunter,
    You're welcome. Thanks for posting back to let us know.


    Mo
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65684

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice