1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] Win98 shut down error

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Jcapstick, Dec 18, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jcapstick

    Jcapstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    I keep getting this Error when shutting down
    Explorer caused an invalid page fault in module <unknown> at 0000:0043027a
    Registers:
    EAX=0043 13DC CS=017F E1P= 0043027A
    EFLGS=00010202 EBX=00435648 SS=0187
    Stack dump 7ff38ae8
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    What version of IE are you using?
     
  3. Jcapstick

    Jcapstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Version 500.3314.2101
     
  4. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    sorry I kept you waiting... I was trying to gather info

    1st ... have you ran an updated virus scan & did the full maintenance on your computer? Including a scan for spyware?

    also are you running CyberMedia FirstAid 97. If you are you need to update it to 98.

    Other than that its saying you need to update IE to 5.5

    Hope this helped
     
  5. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    If the virus scan turns up nothing, download and run AdAware from www.LavasoftUSA.Net

    Foistware can cause failures in both Explorer and IExplore
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    It would also be worth while to post your startup files.
    That way we can first try removing possible nasties and unneccesary stuff from there, and then see whether after doing that you still get your error:

    Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
    Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
    Now click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
    Paste the contents in your post.
     
  7. Jcapstick

    Jcapstick Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    204
    Hi,
    I updated to Internet Explorer 6.00 and that fixed the problem .
    Thanks
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62165

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice