[Resolved] windows explorer's left pane is out in Windows Me

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dr X

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
18
I'm using Windows Me and had to restore my system recently. When I use the "Windows explorer" the right large pane shows all of the files/folders, but the left pane is grey and won't show my folder hierarcy. I can go to the View menu, choose "explorer bar" and select anything BUT folders. The options: search, history, favorites, media all will give me something in the left pane - but the "folders" option will not give the hierarcy.

Any suggestions? I would greatly appreciate any advice someone could provide.

Thanks,
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Dr X
Welcome to TSG!
Download the Attached file to your desktop. Once on desktop right click to rename it from WinME Pane Blank.txt to WinME Pane Blank.reg and say ok to change the type.
After renamed double click it and say OK to the merge.

Retry Windows explorer then and let us know the outcome.

Dave
 

Attachments

Dr X

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
18
Thanks for the suggestion, I have the file on my desktop, when I Double-click, it just opens the file in the notepad and doesn't ask to merge. It didn't seem to help.

Any other ideas?

:-(
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Dr X
Right click to rename the file to make it an active program. Reread my prior post to see how to rename it.

Will wait your response.

Dave

PS: I highlighted the previous post area that is important.
 

Dr X

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
18
My computer thinks I want to rename the file as
"WinME Pane Blank.reg.txt" It won't let me change the file extension.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
11,584
Dr X
Try this then Right click rename and highlight the whole name in the box and then overtype LeftPane.reg and hit enter.
Does it let you do that now.
 

Dr X

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
18
O.k. That allowed me to change the extension and it asked "are you sure you want to add 'file name' to the registry? I clicked o.k. and that didn't fix the issue. I also renamed it WinME Pane Blank.reg and added that to the registry, but that didn't help. I even restarted the computer but it still won't show folders in the left pane.

Thanks for your patience.
 

Dr X

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
18
Thanks for the suggestion, but unfortunately I have internet explorer version 5.50.4134.0600. Does this even apply if I'm talking about "Windows Explorer", or are they interrelated?

Thanks
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
I had exactly the same problem. Went to Start > Settings > Control Panel double click Add / Remove Programs, Highlight Internet Explorer and Internet Tools and click add remove.
Then click Repair.
Internet Explorer and Windows Explorer can both be repaired with this. Fixed it for me.
 

Dr X

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
18
O.K. I tried your suggestion to repair the internet explorer through control panel - add/remove programs but that didn't seem to fix the problem after I restarted.

Am I missing a reg file?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
Please do a file search for Browseui.dll
Right click on it and chose properties. Click the version tab.

Post the version number for the file.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
There you go. You have the wrong version of Browseui.dll

If you have IE 5.5 that is the problem.

That Browseui.dll is for IE6 Sp1.

You said your IE version was 5.50.4134.0600

You either need to Upgrade IE or Downgrade.
 

Dr X

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
18
I would like to thank Mosaic 1 for his insight to solving this problem and everyone else who contributed. The problem was solved when I downloaded "internet explorer 5.5" and reinstalled.
Cudos!!

This whole mess started when I went to microsoft's update page and downloaded/installed their update package. When restarting the computer, it screwed up and I couldn't access the desktop. After troubleshooting with Dell service people, we had to restore the desktop (a VERY handy tool) and it was also imperitive (and a damn good thing) that I had previously made a boot disk on floppy (make one that can READ THE CD DRIVE!!!)

Cheers to everyone.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top