1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Resolved] WinXP Home Startup Hang Up

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by burningrave1, Jun 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. burningrave1

    burningrave1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Lately i have been having a real problem with when i start up my computer and everything is done loading at the startup, i go and click on my desktop Dial Up icon for my internet connection box to come up but it doesn't do anything when i click on it. Its like its hung or something for a long time and wont work. All the other icons on my desktop will go right to the places they go to as soon as i log in but my internet connection and my LAN setup for my home network will just hang for like ten minutes or longer before it will go. Today i did a system recovery with quick format and its working ok again now but i noticed a minute ago it hung for a few seconds when i first restarted. I've tried running Ad-aware but that just doesn't seem to correct the problem. Here is the log file from hijackthis in case it helps any.


    Logfile of HijackThis v1.94.0
    Scan saved at 8:34:11 PM, on 6/12/2003
    Platform: Windows XP (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 (6.00.2600.0000)

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL=http://us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page=http://us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL=http://us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page=C:\WINDOWS\System32\blank.htm
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page=%SystemRoot%\system32\blank.htm
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - c:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyviewer.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: &hp toolkit - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - C:\HP\EXPLOREBAR\HPTOOLKT.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsysdrv] c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PreloadApp] c:\hp\drivers\printers\photosmart\hphprld.exe c:\hp\drivers\printers\photosmart\setup.exe -d
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KBD] C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Recguard] C:\WINDOWS\SMINST\RECGUARD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [S3apphk] S3apphk.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PS2] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ps2.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV CfgWiz] c:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\Cfgwiz.exe /R
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] c:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM95\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: MoneySide (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
     
  2. Swiper

    Swiper

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,230
    You dial up to the internet with 56k modem and you have network card installed for your LAN ???
     
  3. burningrave1

    burningrave1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I have a 56k dial up modem and i just have a network set up to share files between this computer and one other one. See i click on my dial up icon on my desktop a bunch of times and then like ten minutes later a whole bunch of dial up boxes will pop up from me clicking on it.
     
  4. Swiper

    Swiper

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,230
    What i would recommend is, going into your task manager when you computer boots up to see if anything is eating up your processes
    system idle process should be using the most.
    If something else is constantly running, you will need to find out what *.exe is running MOST of the time.
    if it seems okay, then double click on your dial up icon once ( to load it up ) and if it hangs, see if that is what is causing the most cpu usage.




    GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!
     
  5. burningrave1

    burningrave1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I tried what you suggested swiper but i dont really see anything using up much cpu in the processes. Im not really sure why but its starting hanging on me again after reboot so my dial up icon, Norton Antivirus 2002, and my Network Connections area all is hung for several minutes and usually the only way to get it unhung is to load up another program that uses up cpu to release it. I really wish someone could point me in a direction to fix this issue im having.
     
  6. Flrman1

    Flrman1

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46,329
    burningrave1 I have PMed a tech to look at your HijackThis logfile. It looks to me like you have a few things in there that need to go but I prefer to wait for him to reply as i am not qualified to tell you what you should let hijackThis fix.
     
  7. burningrave1

    burningrave1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I dont know if its changed much but here is an updated log file i just got since i been having the hang up problem with my dial up icon on the desktop start again.


    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL=http://us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page=http://us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL=http://us5.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant=http://srch-us5.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page=
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page=%SystemRoot%\system32\blank.htm
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - c:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\mnyviewer.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: &hp toolkit - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - C:\HP\EXPLOREBAR\HPTOOLKT.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsysdrv] c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PreloadApp] c:\hp\drivers\printers\photosmart\hphprld.exe c:\hp\drivers\printers\photosmart\setup.exe -d
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KBD] C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Recguard] C:\WINDOWS\SMINST\RECGUARD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] C:\WINDOWS\System32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] C:\WINDOWS\System32\hkcmd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE NvQTwk,NvCplDaemon initialize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [S3apphk] S3apphk.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PS2] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ps2.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NAV Agent] c:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\navapw32.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSConfig] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\HelpCtr\Binaries\MSConfig.exe /auto
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AIM] C:\Program Files\AIM95\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl
    O9 - Extra button: AIM (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: MoneySide (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
     
  8. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [S3apphk] S3apphk.exe



    If you do a file search for that and right click and select "properties" > Version, does it show any copyright info?

    It seems to be showing up in other configurations and apparently is not related to S3 video cards or graphics drivers. You have Nvidia....

    I've only seen this once before either, and I need to be convinced it really is an HP file:

    O3 - Toolbar: &hp toolkit - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - C:\HP\EXPLOREBAR\HPTOOLKT.DLL
     
  9. burningrave1

    burningrave1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    I did a search for S3apphk.exe and got two results. One is located in C:\WINDOWS\system32 and the other is in C:\hp\drivers\video. As far as teh toolbar: &hp toolkit goes i did a fix on it with hijackthis and it just removed it from the IE toolbar icon list at the top when you right click.
     
  10. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Does the actual file show any copyright information when you right click and select Properties > Version?
     
  11. burningrave1

    burningrave1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Nither one of them show any version or copyright information in properties and they both appear to be exactly the same size and identical in every way except location.
     
  12. burningrave1

    burningrave1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Here is a list of all the proccesses i have noticed running in task manager.

    Svchost.exe LOCAL SERVICE
    Svchost.exe NETWORK SERVICE
    explorer.exe Owner
    wuauclt.exe Owner
    IEXPLORE.exe Owner
    taskmgr.exe Owner
    devldr32.exe Owner
    hpsysdrv.exe Owner
    KDB.EXE Owner
    S3apphk.exe Owner
    Navapw32.exe Owner
    aim.exe Owner
    System Idle Process SYSTEM
    System SYSTEM
    smss.exe SYSTEM
    csrss.exe SYSTEM
    winlogon.exe SYSTEM
    services.exe SYSTEM
    lsass.exe SYSTEM
    svchost.exe SYSTEM
    svchost.exe SYSTEM
    spoolsv.exe SYSTEM
    DKService.exe SYSTEM
    Navapsvc.exe SYSTEM
    nvsvc32.exe SYSTEM

    And this one is showing up in processes at startup but goes away after everything finally starts working:

    fxssvc.exe
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    FXSSVC.exe is a fax service. You might try checking Administrative Tools > Services and see if it is set to automatic or manual. I don't think you want to disable it if you are using your fax. But if it is on automatic, try setting it to manual and see if that helps and you can still use your fax.

    The other is still a mystery, perhaps it is associated with a particular motherboard/chipset installation. I see it listed here in a folder of Via drivers for VPSD EPIA mainboard:

    http://216.239.57.100/search?q=cach...VERS/VGA_TV/WIN2K/+S3apphk.exe&hl=en&ie=UTF-8

    Since it appears to be an msconfig startup entry, you should be able to uncheck it for testing and see what the effects are, if any. It may be a tray utility of some kind.
     
  14. burningrave1

    burningrave1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Well i fooled around with disabling and reinabling a couple things in services including the fax service and it appears to not be hanging anymore at the moment when i restart so i'll just have to wait and see if it starts doing it again so i can really find out which one of those services is doing it.
     
  15. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Can't ask for more than that. I'd suspect the fax service from your description of the problem. Give us an update when and if you feel the problem is or isn't resolved :)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - [Resolved] WinXP Home
  1. ehbowen
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    242
  2. Coco767
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    1,247
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/139517

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice