1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

(Resolved) Zone Alarm

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Deke40, Jan 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,077
    Was using Zone Alarm but it ate up two much of my resources and I uninstalled using their uninstaller. After uninstalling it I went through the registry and deleted all references to it also. Downloaded Kerio Personal Firewall. When I tried to access the internet again I got a page that my ZA Pro was having problems. Here is the url of the page. How can this be doing this. It sugested I restart (might have to do this three times. Have done this twice and seems alright. How can this be doing this with all of it gone. Also I was using the freeware version.

    http://lockup.zonelabs.com/8083.html

    Also I can't get rid of the entries in Start Up area. They are unchecked. Went to HKLU and HKLM and it is not listed there. How do you get rid of them in startup?
     
  2. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,077
    ZA stopped me two more times. What is going on?
     
  3. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,077
    Finally reread the page that kept coming up. Renamed Internet Logs to oldlogs and it seems to have stopped.

    Can I just delete those logs and will the Internet Logs folder recreate itself?
     
  4. jm100dm

    jm100dm

    Joined:
    May 26, 1999
    Messages:
    994
    Renaming a file like that is effectively deleting the use of that file. Normally when you rename like that is is just in case problems occur so you have the option to name it back to it's original name. I would feel comfortable deleting it.

    jm100dm
     
  5. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
    Deke,

    Just copy / pasted this from http://www.experts-exchange.com

    Its a response to someone wanting guidance on getting rid of ZA.

    (1) Following the uninstall of Zonealarm by its guarding program "unwise".

    (2) After that, you need to do a clean uninstallation manually by: -

    Clean Uninstall of ZoneLabs-Zonealarm
    --------------------------------------
    (a) Manually remove the following left-over log and report files which contain the previous used information of ZA and it affected the next clean reinstallation of ZA:-

    C:\Windows\Internet log\ZALog.txt
    C:\Windows\System\ZoneLabs\VSMON.RPT
    C:\Windows\APPLOG\VSMON.LGC
    C:\Windows\APPLOG\MINILOG.LGC

    (b) Then Go to registry by Start-run, type regedit. In the registry, drill to
    HK_Local Machine\Software\Zone Labs\

    Remove the subkeys under above registry including emailsafe and registration.
    HK_Current_User\Software\Zone Labs\

    OK. Restart computer.


    Post back if you still have trouble.


    RSM123.
     
  6. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,077
    The only way I'm able to get back on is reboot.

    I had found that on google also. Found everything in that post but "C:\Windows\APPLOG\MINILOG.LGC " .

    I have deleted everthing I can find about ZA. Something still has to be here to keep sending me to their page I posted earlier. I have deleted everthing including cookis and tempor ~! in DOS.

    I can access 6 or 8 time then that infernal ZA link comes up.

    I'm about ready to go back to a registry cab 8 or 9 days ago when I installed ZA and try that. I can't find anything in the registry.
     
  7. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,077
    Whoops! Went two days to early. It ask me for my Toshiba Modem cd. Finnally got back into windows. Did another cabrest to the morning after Roadrunner installation and before ZA.

    Also go the uninstall sheet from ZA's site.. Everthing gone but two files:

    C:\Windows\System\vsdata.dll
    C:\Windows\System\vsdata95.vxd

    Should I go ahead and delete these two. The first one predates the ZA install date on both Created and Modified dates.

    The second one says fits the time frame.

    How can one of these files have the created showing later than the modified date.

    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=678175">
     

    Attached Files:

  8. jm100dm

    jm100dm

    Joined:
    May 26, 1999
    Messages:
    994
    Created by is from your computer and modified is from the person that last changed the progam prior to you downloading it.


    You could also go into windows\system and list files be date. Making sure that view all files is marked in folder options. check the time that those files were created and other files created at the same time may belong to Zone Alarm. Right click and check properties to be sure. Delete or rename by changing the extention to old if not confortable with delete.

    I would delete them both. Hope that fixes it for you.

    jm100dm
     
  9. RSM123

    RSM123

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,531
    Deke,

    I had the VSDATA95.VXD problem when I deleted ZA - I just went to Find Files / Folders to check where it was. Then went into Regedit and just right click deleted it. No probs since then.

    The other one the DLL I never saw an error mentioning that - it should be safe to delete but if in doubt just rename as OLD.

    If you don't dump the VXD you will get an error message every time you boot the pc. It will say something about changes to System.ini and you will have press a key to complete boot sequence.

    As for the query about the apparent file date discrepancy I have no answer.


    RSM123.
     
  10. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,077
    Finally all is well. I tested Kerio at the Sygate site and it blocked everthing they sent. All I did was download Kerio and then tested it. No muss no fuss. It uses about one third of the resources that ZA was using.

    Thanks for the help.

    PS-Found out it only uses one sixth of the resources. 2% versus 12%.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112726

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice