1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Restaring Router To Retrieve Connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Robsy128, Feb 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Robsy128

    Robsy128 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    226
    Hey all :)

    I'm having an issue with my wireless router and I don't think it's normal. Basically, I would be on my computer or laptop, generally browsing the Internet, and all of a sudden the Internet will stop working. A small yellow exclamation mark appears beside the wireless icon in the system tray. In order to resolve this, I go downstairs and turn the router off and then turn it back on again. When the router loses the connection, the light on the router goes out (the one that says Internet), yet everything else is on as it should be. Restarting the router seems to fix this problem. I just can't understand why I have to do this at home when the wireless router at work never has an issue. It's literally on 24/7 and handles everything from laptops to iPhones and even iPads.

    Is this normal for my router? I had this exact same issue with my previous one and so I ended up buying an N range router (the last one was G). The guide book says that you shouldn't ever turn it off as that could cause problems, but whenever it loses the Internet connection, I'm forced to restart it in order to get the connection back.
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,305
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Am I safe to assume that the router connects to some type of modem provided by your Internet Service Provider (ISP)? If you had the same problem with two different routers, maybe the problem is with the modem.
     
  3. Robsy128

    Robsy128 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    226
    Erm... I'm not that great with networking haha. We have an ADSL line that goes from the wireless router to a small little box, which connects to the telephone line.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,926
    First Name:
    Terry
    Is the "ADSL line" a phone cable or an ethernet cable? (Or something else?)

    What is the brand and model of the router?

    What is the brand and model (if it has them) of the small little box?
     
  5. Robsy128

    Robsy128 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    226
    I'm at work at the moment so I can't tell you... well, I can tell you that the ADSL line is an ethernet connection and the brand of the router is a Huawei router. It's a small black one supplied by TalkTalk.
     
  6. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,305
    First Name:
    Chuck
    I don't know about TerryNet, but I am getting confused here.

    1) ADSL signals traveling on your phone line do not use Ethernet signaling. ADSL uses multiple groups of high frequency analog signals and Ethernet uses high speed digital signals. A modem is needed to convert the ADSL high frequency analog signals into the Ethernet digital signals. There may be a small passive ADSL splitter or filter between the modem and the phone line entering your residence. Some modems include an Ethernet router inside of them. The routers in some modems may also include a built-in wireless access point. Is this modem the "Huawei router" you are referring to? What is the model name or number of it.

    2) You say that you bought a new wireless router. Is this the Huawei router or is it another device that connects between the Huawei router and your wired and wireless devices. If so, then as TerryNet asked, what is the brand and model number of the wireless router?
     
  7. Robsy128

    Robsy128 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    226
    Well, it looks like an ethernet connection. The router is a Huawei HG532a. This is the brand new router. It worked perfectly fine for a few weeks but now it seems to lose the Internet connection at least once every two days and the only way to get it back is it restart it.

    This router is connected directly to my dad's PC via a wire and sends a wireless signal all around the house.
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    That is almost certainly your TalkTalk modem faulty
    you will need to speak ( or attempt to speak) to the normally useless support team at Talk talk . But they will tell you that it is working when you call them, and if you ring them when it is down, they will tell you to reboot the modem to fix it. If you are lucky enough to get through to a knowledgeable tech, they should offer to replace the modem, but you will need to keep on pushing them. However it could also be a line or wiring fault and a dodgy ASDL filter can also cause that symptom.

    BUT I do see a lot of similar complaints about TalkTalk and I know other users who have exactly the same problem, that nothing cures
     
  9. Robsy128

    Robsy128 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    226
    :( I remember my dad talking to two technicians and they both claimed that it was the wiring in the street, but I thought I'd ask here as that seems quite unlikely. I mean, there are people on the other side of the road with their wireless up 24/7, I'm sure.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,926
    First Name:
    Terry
    Are there any LEDs on the modem that indicate any loss of internet access when the router drops the connection?

    Have you tried with a computer connected directly to the modem to determine if the problem is with the modem (or earlier) or with the router?

    If it is a router problem make sure you have the latest firmware and then reset it to factory default settings and reconfigure.

    Your initial post said that the router loses its internet connection (i.e., its connection to the modem). Are you now implying that only the wireless connection is lost? You can still get internet access through the router via ethernet when a wireless connection is lost? This makes no sense to me if the router's Internet LED is off.
     
  11. Robsy128

    Robsy128 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    226
    No no, the Internet LED on the router - the Huawei 532a - goes off. It's not green when the Internet goes down. My dad's PC is wired into it and even he can't get on the Internet when this happens.

    I have no idea what the modem would look like or be... it just seems to connect directly to the telephone line.

    What I meant when I said "there are people on the other side of the road with their wireless up 24/7" was that their Internet never seems to die like mine does, and it's incredibly irritating when I try to download something or even try to read my emails. That's when I go downstairs in a mood and turn the router off and turn it on again.

    A firmware update may be a good idea, though. How would I go about doing this?
     
  12. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    that appears to be a router & adsl modem combined
    It looks like you need to talk ( or attempt to talk) to Talktalk support & get them to look into it
    it probably is your phone line or adsl filter at fault
    you said in post 1
    that almost certainly rules out the modem/routers, unless you are unlucky enough to have got 2 lemons in row
     
  13. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,305
    First Name:
    Chuck
    As dvk01 said, The Huawei 532a is a combination ADSL modem and router.

    Assuming the Huawei 532a is sharing the same phone line as your home telephone(s), do you have the correct ADSL splitters and filters in place for all other devices (phones, fax machine, DVR, alarm system, etc.) on that line?
     
  14. Robsy128

    Robsy128 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    226
    I honestly wouldn't know haha. That's like reading Chinese to me :p
     
  15. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    62,305
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Did you or your father install the Huawei 532a or did you have Talk Talk do it? If it was a Do-It-Yourself installation, was the installation done as per supplied instructions?

    FWiW, even one missing ADSL filter on one device connected to your phone line could greatly degrade the quality of your ADSL signals to the point of causing drop outs. You may want to start learning about how ADSL should be installed and troubleshooting simple problems. There is only so much any of us here can do without actually seeing the installation or getting accurate and reliable information from you.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1088667

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice