1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Restore Disk backup issues

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by KannonX, Jan 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KannonX

    KannonX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Hello,

    I am new in this forum and I subscribed because of an issue I faced lately (past few days). I have tried everything (almost) but I did not manage to restore my disk. Prior to that, I had to format and reinstall windows 7 (x64) but right before I managed to backup my disk using liveboot (or Spotmau they are the same apparently) from wondershare, into an external hard drive. I then have one .pch followed by a series of .pce files in my external hard drive. This is so far a description of the situation.

    However, when I try to restore my disk using liveboot or bootsuit 2012 the process stops at 99% and prompts me the following message: "Disk restore stopped for unknown reason the process failed". Note that I have tried 4-5 times the process changing from AHCI to RAID etc .. but nothing worked =/

    Any idea?

    Thank you in advance for your consideration.
     
  2. KannonX

    KannonX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Up! No idea?
     
  3. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    k:
    Hello & welcome to Tech Guy Support.

    Which brand, model # model # computer or motherboard have you?

    Desktop or laptop?

    From the W7 repair options, run diags for memory.

    Windows Vista: How to Scan / Test your RAM or Memory with Windows Vista Memory Diagnostic
    Tool

    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/715-memory-diagnostics-tool.html

    Also, from the repiar options, go to a command prompt:
    type: c:
    Press enter
    type: chkdsk /r
    press enter
    You may be asked if you want to unmount the drive.
    I think you have a choice of "y" or "n", could be something else.
    type whatever is offered to accept the option to dis mount / un mount the drive.

    the results won't be saved to a disk, please copy them down or take a photo & upload the photo.

    For more information, see:
    http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/682-command-prompt-startup.html

    Which brand, model # model # HDD [ hard disk drive ] is in your computer?
    Find the diagnostics & run them.

    Are you using RAID?
    Edit: if so, which RAID? How many HDDs in your computer?
    End edit.

    RF123
     
  4. KannonX

    KannonX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Hello,

    First of all thank you for the answer. Also in the meantime I tried to recover the disk using spotmau on my external hard drive but I still have the same problem, that said here are my configuration:

    Laptop: Alienware m17x r3 from Dell

    OS: Windows 7 ultimate x64

    Motherboard:
    • manufacturer - Alienware
    • model -m17xR3(CPU1)
    • Version -A08

    After running a memory check, there were no errors found.

    I attached to the post snapshots of the HDD type and all details got from "Speecy" (Piriform), the results of the CHKDSK /r process and the files of my disk backup (.pch/.pce) I got from spotmau.

    I have no idea of how should I manage to backup my disk, I am starting to think that the backup files are corrupted although I got them using spotmau and no errors have been prompted during the process.

    Thank you in advance for your help.

    Kannon
     

    Attached Files:

  5. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    I am unfamiliar with either of the backup programs you mentioned. I use Acronis True Image.
    ATI comes in 2 forms; 1 is installed; the other in boot disk, so that one can clone HDD 1 to HDD 2 without risking file corruption from the install.

    Have you run Seagate [ ST xyx in 1 of your screen shots ]?

    Tech Guy has forum for all other software.
    http://forums.techguy.org/18-all-other-software/

    RF123
     
  6. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    Have you run Seagate's Diag?

    RF123
     
  7. KannonX

    KannonX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Unfortunately everyone around is unfamiliar with Spotmau. I will try to run a Seagate's diag right now and I wll edit this post with the conclusions. However I am starting to think that my backup files are somehow corrupted, maybe the software did not backup the disc image properly.

    Kannon
     
  8. rainforest123

    rainforest123

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,256
    The drive to which the backup was made could be defective.

    The backup file itself could be defective.

    Try running chkdsk /r on the drive on which the backup file exists.

    For example:
    If the drive on which the backup file is located is the F: drive

    start > programs / all programs> accessories

    RIGHT click "command prompt"
    Left click "run as administrator"

    type: f:
    enter
    type: chkdsk /r
    enter

    RF123
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085856

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice