1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Restore Plus! CD for HP Compaq Presario

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Breakbeat, Jan 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Breakbeat

    Breakbeat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Hello Everyone,

    I am running Windows XP Pro on a HP Compaq Presario S3190UK desktop and since this evening I haven't been able to even get to the Windows Splash screen.

    When I boot I am given the options of Safe Mode, Last Known Good Configuration, Start Windows Normally and Recovery Mode (which doesn't respond). Whichever option I select it stalls and will not boot the files and when I boot in safe mode it stalls after about seven seconds.

    I have the Operating CD which I have tried to boot from but upon boot up I get the message "Please insert the Restore Plus! CD" . I don't have this.

    Is there any chance of me retrieving my data?

    Thanks for your help in advance.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Are you able to get into setup/BIOS at all - Press F2 OR Del key as it boots
    to retrieve your DATA lets try this first - if you have the kit available

    UBUNTU
    It may be possible to boot from another Operating System
    This will at least test the Hardware and also see if you can see the Harddrive and possibly get data off.

    If you have another PC with a cdwriter and spare CD
    goto http://www.ubuntu.com/ and download the ISO

    click on the image "download ubuntu"
    Select a location
    then begin download
    Save the file onto your PC – remember where you saved it – so you can find it again to create the image bootable CD.

    You do NOT copy the ISO file onto a CD - you have to use the ISO to create a bootable CD
    The CD creator software you have on the PC may have an option to create an image from an ISO
    If not - use this free program http://www.imgburn.com/

    When the UBUNTU CD boots - you will see the following options
    1) Try ubunto without any change to your computer
    2) Install ubuntu
    3) Check CD for defects
    4) Test memory
    5) Boot from first hard disk.

    Use OPTION 1 "Try ubunto without any change to your computer" this will run from the CD and not install onto your harddrive - be careful, if you do install you will wipe the data and software OFF your hard drive..

    Now you should see a UBUNTU desktop
    This at least proves the main parts of the PC are working

    You may see your Harddrive on the desktop - if not have in look in the places on the tool bar at the top of the screen.

    If you can see your harddrive – see if you can find the your datafiles –
    XP look in “documents and settings” under the user name you had on the PC
    Vista look in “user” under the user name you had on the PC

    Now if you have a USB flash drive or external harddrive – you should be able to copy your data from the harddrive onto the USB device
     
  3. Breakbeat

    Breakbeat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Thanks for that, etaf

    Got the .iso image and run it, now I'm given Missing operating system with a flashing cursor and nothing responds.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK - thats the PC trying to boot off the harddrive ...
    Often HP/Compaq PCs when a bootable CD was installed would ask you to " hit any key to boot from CD"

    Are you able to get into setup/BIOS at all - Press F2 OR Del key as it boots
    If so you need to change the boot order , so that the CD is first
     
  5. Breakbeat

    Breakbeat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    I've been in to the BIOS and changed the boot sequence, and the first priority is [SM-Toshiba DVD]

    The other two options are 1st Floppy Drive and PM-ST380023A which I suspect is the hard drive. I even changed to boot from the CD ROM and it gave the Missing operatingsystem error again
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Did you correctly create the bootable CD - reading again
    If it booted off the harddrive you got a safemode menu - NOT the "missing OS"
    So maybe a faulty CD

    can you try and boot the CD in the other PC ?
    Just to see if it works OK
     
  7. Breakbeat

    Breakbeat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Thankd for that, etaf. I tried the CD in another machine and got the same error.

    I'll re-create and burn it again
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    remember your NOT copying the ISO across you are burning a bootable image from the ISO
     
  9. Breakbeat

    Breakbeat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Thanks etaf,

    I've burned the ISO image and selected OPTION 1 "Try ubunto without any change to your computer".

    At present I've got the Ubuntu desktop, I just need to see whether I can capture my data. However, it was unable to mount my hard drive. The error read Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 2.

    Any ideas on how best to proceed with capturing the data?

    Thanks
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
  11. Breakbeat

    Breakbeat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Thanks for the link, but Terminal from Applications \ Accessories \ Terminal on the top menu doesn't do anything. It says its starting then stops
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
  13. Breakbeat

    Breakbeat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Wow - Frozen it - Done with that, then!

    Thanks for your time with this all the same. Much appreciated.

    Can't believe it - I ran Ubuntu again and rand the fix errors on start up and I can see my data.

    Thanks heaps, etaf.

    Your efforts are much appreciated.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Thats good news - get that data OFF asap..

    we can then work on the PC getting repaired....
    Have a look see what Disks you can find that may have come with the PC
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,767
    First Name:
    Wayne
    wheres that option - it may be useful for others and I wont backoff so quickly....
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/892785

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice