Restore point error (Ox8000ffff)

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

2dolphins

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
5
Hello~
Yesterday when I opened any of my saved documents, a window opened and I was prompted to select a program to open the file. I chose microsoft word because that the program I created the document on. When the document is opened the text is all garbled, and I couldn't find a format or program where the text wasn't garbled. Even if I scan in a new document, when I drag it to my desktop and try to print it, the text is garbled. Now when I first scanned it, the text was fine, and the only thing I did was drag the document to my desktop. I did not know what to do so today I figured I would do a system restore. I tried it twice, as administrator, and both times the restore was unsuccessful and i received the following error message;

System Restore Failed to extract the file (c:\)from the restore point An unspecified error occured during system recovery (Ox8000fff)

Prior to now being able to open my documents my system worked fine. I haven't updated or deleted or changed anything recently. Can you help me?
Thank you for your time~
Alice Jahneke
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,899
I assume the message read "An unspecified error occured during system restore (not recovery) because those are two very different things."

What is your operating system?

What version of MS Office do you have?

What do you mean when you say " Even if I scan in a new document"? Are these not documents that you created by typing in Word?
 

2dolphins

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
5
Thank you for your reply. Yes, I meant system restore. I am using windows 7, and microsoft word 2010 that was installed on laptop when I purchaesd it. What I meant by documents I scan? I am unable to open, without garbled text, both the documents that I created with word 2010, and other documents that I have scanned.
I hope I've answered all of your questions, I appreciate your help.
~2dolphins
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2012
Messages
518
If you open Word to a new blank document, Hit Enter a couple times so that you are not on the top line, Choose Insert > Picture , then Navigate to the scanner image you created and insert it, can you see it then? You'll need some sort of OCR software to scan into a usable text formatted document rather than an image.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,899
If you right-click on a document that you typed in Word, select "open with" and "Choose default" can you select Word from the list of programs there?
 

2dolphins

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
5
If you right-click on a document that you typed in Word, select "open with" and "Choose default" can you select Word from the list of programs there?
I've done that. It doesn't work. When I open in word or anyother format, the text is garbled
 

2dolphins

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
5
If you open Word to a new blank document, Hit Enter a couple times so that you are not on the top line, Choose Insert > Picture , then Navigate to the scanner image you created and insert it, can you see it then? You'll need some sort of OCR software to scan into a usable text formatted document rather than an image.

No it didn't work. The problem I'm having isn't just with newly scanned documents (not photos). It's also with documents that I created some time ago, and that I access all the time. I shouldn't need new software to open a file I've opened a dozen times should I?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,899
Are you able to create a new document in Word as a test? If so, are you still not able to open it without the text being garbled? Perhaps you can upload a test document here (not one with real information). :)
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2012
Messages
518
Resetting Word to First use may help. Im many cases, I would go here first, in your circumstance, I am thinking remove and reinstall your Office products if you can, then run the Reset procedure. Note that Removeing and reinstalling has NO effect of resetting Word to a brand new installed condition. I go to reinstalling because of the failed restore point, which could have toasted Word in other ways, and then the Rest to see if it will cure this problem. Either way, each is relatively painless. Please do uplad a sample as Cookiegal has asked, her advice and support is awesome! Include all Office and Operating System Versions if you can as well.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top