1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Restricting ports on network devices

Discussion in 'Networking' started by GeorgePDawg, Nov 4, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. GeorgePDawg

    GeorgePDawg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Dear all,

    I have a small based-at-home consultancy business. I am in the process of being onboarded as a supplier by a large, multinational organisation which has asked me to implement some additional IT security in order to qualify.

    One of the requirements they've stipulated is that I must 'Restrict ports on network devices' but I'm not even sure what that means and would be very grateful if anyone could help interpret.

    I assumed at first that they meant I had to password protect USB ports, but after reading around am thinking the reference to network devices means that it concerns virtual ports on things like routers, servers and so on and that therefore it's something I need to address with my internet service provider. However, I'm just guessing here and would be most grateful for a steer from someone who knows what it means.

    Many thanks in advance,
    GPD
     
  2. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,180
    You need to ask them to clarify their port restriction requirements. It can be something as simple as being able to administratively shut down the ports to having to apply 802.1x authentication.
     
  3. GeorgePDawg

    GeorgePDawg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks very much indeed for the quick reply, zx10guy, that's very helpful. I'll ask for clarification, in that case. Just one quick follow-up question at this point, if I may: when you say 'administratively shut down the ports', do you mean ports as in laptop USB ports or something else?

    Many thanks again,
    GPD
     
  4. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,180
    Until you get clarification on what their restriction requirements are, we're just speculating.

    I can say in many business environments network devices such as switches, routers, and firewalls have multiple ports. It is standard practice to set unused ports into what is called an administratively shut down state. This means within the configuration of the network device the port is made inactive. So even if you plug something into said port, there will be no network activity. Devices of this type are solely in the domain of business class equipment. SOHO devices do not have this type of configurability.
     
  5. GeorgePDawg

    GeorgePDawg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks very much again, that's really most helpful and I think I'm beginning to catch on. I'll seek clarification and take it from there.

    Best,
    GPD
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1235208

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice