1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

"Results Not Found"

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by BML, Feb 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BML

    BML Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    679
    Every time I go to a webpage that's not found or offline, I get my browser re-directed to this "search results" page which looks like another search engine. I used to just get the plain white error 404 page. How do I re=set it to not redirect to some other search engine every time? Or, can I set it to re-direct to somewhere that I choose? I dont know how "search results" got on here.


    I use Explorer 6.0
     
  2. suzi

    suzi

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    362
    What search results page is it? It sounds like you might have a browser hijacker or browser helper object. There are several of those that will take you to their own search page if you make a mistake in typing in a URL.

    Try this: Download Spybot Search & Destroy here: (freeware)

    http://patrick.kolla.de/

    After you download and install it, click the online button, then search for updates. Download the updates. Close the program then relaunch it and run. After it finishes the scan you will see a list of items it found. The list might be quite long if you have spyware or foistware on you system. Let Spybot fix all the problems which are shown in red. (It has a restore feature if needed).

    You might have to run Spybot 2 or 3 times to remove everything if you have a lot of junk. After all that, let us know what happens.

    Read this on browser hijacking for more info:

    http://www.spywareinfo.com/articles/hijacked/

    and this on BHO's: http://www.spywareinfo.com/articles/bho/

    Good luck and let us know what happens.
     
  3. BML

    BML Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    679
    Is the program you mentioned the same, or does the same job, as ad-aware?
     
  4. suzi

    suzi

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    362
    Spybot is not exactly the same as AdAware but it's purpose is the same. I have read that AdAware finds some things that Spybot does not find and vice-versa.

    Also AdAware just released a new edition. A lot of people still have the old AdAware, 5.83 which is extremely outdated. If you use AdAware instead of Spybot, be sure you get the new version 6.0.

    I personally think it's a good idea to have both. I prefer Spybot for the most part, but AdAware is a good backup.
     
  5. BML

    BML Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    679
    Great! It worked!! I see that it also got rid of a lot of adware that the Grokster program had put in, but now I can still run grokster! When I used adaware Grokster told me that some components were missing that it needed to run (which was the ads).

    thanks!
     
  6. suzi

    suzi

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    362
    It's very likely that Grokster won't work. In that case you would have to re-install it. Then you have to decide whether or not you want Grokster or you want to be free of spyware.

    Here's a list of p2p programs with and without spyware.

    http://www.spywareinfo.com/articles/p2p/

    I don't use any p2p, (too paranoid) but a lot of people like Kazaa Lite.
     
  7. BML

    BML Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2001
    Messages:
    679
    Actually, I did try it and the Grokster does work - after using spybot to get rid of the bad stuff. After using Ad-Aware it wouldn't work.

    I do have kazaa lite as well.....
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118868

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice