1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Retrieve data from extinct application?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by OBE17, Aug 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. OBE17

OBE17 Thread Starter

Novice here: Licensed Hollander Powerlink software for car parts business. Closed business after 5 years. Can't open application anymore. Tech support won't help me. They told me that I need an SQL Expert to retrieve my data. They say it's still on my computer.

2. OBE17

OBE17 Thread Starter

There are files I can see using Windows Explore. There are .rpt and .BAK files from daily backups. I downloaded a free version of Crystal Reports and tried to open the .rpt files. It tells me there is no data in them.

3. md2lgyk

md2lgyk

So why won't the application open any more? Is it something you had to pay a fee for to keep it working?

4. OBE17

OBE17 Thread Starter

You license software to aid in the operation of your business venture. You never (that I know of) own the software but merely "rent" it. All of the data you collect, however, is your property.
    When you close the business you stop paying the $600, or so, per month rent and the software will no longer open. The application is extinct. The data is still on your hard drive. You call the software author and they offer to sell you a single-user, 12-month license for $175 per month. When you protest, they say, "You could get yourself an SQL Expert to open the files because they are still there."

5. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned