retrieving email from outside location or overseas locations

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tiggerbounce13

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
76
Hello,

We currently have email access at work, the boss would like to have access to his email from home and overseas, How can I go about setting this up?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
2,056
a realllllllllllly long RJ5 cable?

home is easy - he just needs his pop3/smtp details, and user id/password

traveling is a little different
depends who your provider is - with some you can get dial up access from various locations - like roaming with a cell phone - ie at&t, they even have a 1-800 service you can use (for$$)

another way is a 3rd party provider: yahoo enables you to access pop3 from anywhere, all you do is setup a yahoo account, then use your pop3 server settings to get your regular mail

in both case corporate firewall permissions may have to be adjusted to allow remote access
 

tiggerbounce13

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
76
Ok that sounds easy enough to due, but what instructions due I need to give him so that he can set up the computer at his house?
 

tiggerbounce13

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 28, 2001
Messages
76
We do not use dial up access at work, Email goes throw are domain name and is placed on our server here at the office. It is all done throw internet access?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
2,056
well he might need that realllly long cable then!
LOL

he obviously needs internet access at his home to start
- either a dial up or dsl from who ever provides you the office connection or a different 3rd party (NOT AOL please - it won't work)
-then he needs the mail server addresses for the office server

maybe a call to what ever company provides your internet connection could help, they would probably love to sell you more services
- like dial up or dsl
- and they would have the correct settings, hell they should go over and set him up for free just for the customer service part of it
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
Is it Internet Mail that you have (mail accounts and mail server through ISP) or do you have an Exchange server? Or something else?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top