1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Retrieving Sent button in Thunderbird

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by imawriter, May 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    I have lost the Sent button located at the top of the page in Thunderbird.When I write an e-mail I have to go to File and Send. Can you tell me how to get the Sent button back ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,152
    Right click the Toolbar on the compose window and then "Customize".
    If the "Send" Button is there, drag it back to the Toolbar.
    If it's not there, click "Restore default set".

    T.
     
  3. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    I tried your suggestion. Since the Send button did not show up under Customize, I clicked on Restore default set and it still was not there. Do you have another idea for me?

    Thanks.
     
  4. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,152
    Hmmm! I don't have anything else at the moment. I'll see what I can come up with.

    T.
     
  5. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    56,837
    Could go to Start Menu\Programs\Mozilla Thunderbird and you have...
    Mozilla Thunderbird (Safe Mode)
    and
    Mozilla Thunderbird (No Extensions)

    Try starting Thunderbird in safe mode to see if all is OK or you can do as throoper said.
     
  6. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,152
    Try Hewee's suggestion before doing anything further. If it's not caused by an Add-on and it didn't show up in the Customize when restoring the default set, I'm going to make a guess that it went missing when T-bird last updated.

    If that's the case, my best suggestion would be to get a New copy of Thunderbird and reinstall it.

    Make a temporary backup of your profile folder first, just in case.
    To do that, Start>Run>type %APPDATA%/Thunderbird/Profiles on the command line>OK.
    Copy the folder to the Desktop or another convenient location.
    If there are no problems with the reinstall, you can delete the temporary profile backup.

    T.
     
  7. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    I tried opening Thunderbird in Safe Mode and still did not see the Send button. Then I made the temporary copy of my profile folder, per your directions, and placed a copy on my desktop.
    Now...how do I reinstall Thunderbird and if I do this will I lose all my e-mails, files and address list?
     
  8. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,152
    First, get a new installation of T-bird. http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/thunderbird/
    You should be able to install it on top of the existing program and let it overwrite everything.
    That's basically what happens when you update to a new version, anyway.
    Or if you prefer you can uninstall from Add/Remove Programs and then install the new setup. Some people don't trust the installer to delete the original program before writing the new. I've never had a problem with it, but it's whatever your preference is.

    Your E-mail, addresses, and all prefs should remain intact. Uninstalling does not remove your profile (which is where all your stuff is located).
    Rarely, your profile might get caught by the uninstaller (I stress rarely). That's why you should always make a backup before updating or reinstalling.
    If a problem occurs, it's a simple matter to remove the Profile and replace it with a copy of the backup.
    You might have to reinstall an extension or two, but if your not making a major version change, most should be okay.

    Hopefully this will solve the problem. Let us know.
    T.

    Just noticed this after I posted, the Send button is missing from the Compose window, right? The reason I ask is because there is no Send button on the Main window, only the Compose window. ;)
     
  9. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Right.The Send button is missing from the Write screen.
     
  10. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,152
    Okay. I hope my asking didn't offend.:eek:
    Just wanted to make sure you weren't trying to do something you can't do.
    Let me know if the reinstall solves it.
    T.
     
  11. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    I tried your suggestion about getting a new installation of Thunderbird from the site you mentioned. When it was installed I looked at it and the same problems were there...no Send button and no Attach button.

    Any other thoughts?

    Thanks.
     
  12. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,152
    Hmmm!! The Send button is in the default set of the main program (rather than a profile specific item) and the reinstall should have repaired it.
    Only thing I can think at the moment is if you just did the overwrite install, it kept the problem.
    If thats the case, try uninstalling and then reinstalling.
    Other than that, I'm stumped.
    Was the Attach button originally missing or is that new?
     
  13. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Ta-Dah! They're back. There was an unchecked toolbar under View and that brought back one or both of them. Also clicked on File and something under it...I was clicking on everything to see if anything worked...and it did. Thank you SO much for your time and effort.
     
  14. throoper

    throoper Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,152
    DOH!!!!
    I ran across an extension bug report late last night where a button had installed on a hidden toolbar and was going to have you check to see if you had one that was hidden (thinking, "No, couldn't be that simple, but I've got nothing else"). Just goes to show you, the simple will get you every time.:eek:
    I'm really glad you got it solved. (y)
    T.
     
  15. imawriter

    imawriter Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    439
    Me, too. Thanks again.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/710148