1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RF Modulator is not working for DVD player

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by tcupaz, Dec 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tcupaz

    tcupaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I have a TV with just coax cable in the back (no RCA hookups). I want to hook up a dvd player to it. Bought a RF Modulator with rca and S video hookup with a channel 3 and 4 switch. Hooked up the cable thru it to the TV, cable works fine. I hook up the dvd player to the modulator with both RCA and S video. Turn on the dvd player and the picture turns to snow on both channel 3 and 4. Soon as I turn off the dvd player, the cable channels appear and the picture is fine. The cable is running fine thru the modulator but I can't get the dvd player to work. Something is happening because I am getting snow when I turn on the DVD player. (I have also unhooked the s video and RCA and tried what I seem is every way possible.) Any suggestions?
     
  2. ARTETUREN

    ARTETUREN

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    248
    Hai,
    pull out cable tv from modulator and then try turn on DVD player. Maybe you have cable tv signal on ch3/4. This is a reason why you have snow (interference).
    by
     
  3. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    Remove any cable box connection and hook only your RF converter to the TV. Connect only the RCA cables to the converter and set the switch on it to 3 and the TV to 3. Make sure the converter is plugged in (power).
     
  4. tcupaz

    tcupaz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I have unhooked the cable from the wall and RF modulater. Left DVD hookup and the RF to the TV, still nothing.

    Do not have a cable box. TV is a Samsung 25 inch bought in 1996.

    Still not working. It is plugged in, light is red on channel three and green on channel 4.
     
  5. ARTETUREN

    ARTETUREN

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    248
    sorry, but do you fixed frequency on tv? its VHF 1 area! Connect dvd in modulator and start play, modulator in tv, chose the program number 0 in tv and press auto search.
     
  6. calvin-c

    calvin-c Banned

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    I'm wondering if it's something to do with copy protection. I know that many DVD's won't play when 'relayed' thru a VCR. Don't really know a lot about the issues, just making an analogy to experience.
     
  7. mrss

    mrss Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    What brand did you buy? These things are supposed to automatically switch from the cable coax input to the input from the DVD player when the DVD turns on. Maybe you just got a bad one. Or worse, the DVD output is bad. Can you test the DVD layer on something else first?
     
  8. MysticEyes

    MysticEyes Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,825
    These are simple devices to hook-up and use. Return it for another, it must just be defective.
     
  9. wtxcowboy

    wtxcowboy

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,242
    do u have a vcr? if so, hook ur dvd player up 2 it & then view dvd's thru the vcr since ur tv has not rca jacks or video input jack. works 4 my old rca tv :D make sure vcr is turned on as well lol :p
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/661398