1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RH 8 and ATI Drivers

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by Hardegg, Feb 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Hardegg

Hardegg Thread Starter

This is my first post here and I am new to Linux as well.
    I install RH 8 on my comp with no problems, downloaded all the updates avalible again no problems.

Installed winex and Jedi Outcast as far as I know no problems (but not sure). When I launched JK2 program came up even though fonts where to small. Then when I went into player mode screen went garbled so I went to ATI for their Linux driver.

I have a Radeon 9700 Pro.
    I ran their little proggy to tell me which version driver I needed.
    downloaded and double clicked file like i would in windows.
    said it installed fine, but when I rebooted I could'nt get back into x windows. I tried "startx"
    but no good, I am going to try xconfig when I get back home tonight to see if I can change driver back.

what help or advice can anyone give me?
    I would like to make this work with games so I assume i need a better driver than the default.

Also I asscoiated exe file extension for JK2 with winex in the usr/bin dir. Is that a bad idea?

Thanks in advance. I have really been trying to figure this stuff out but windows logic doesn't apply to well:(

2. blaa

blaa

Cant help you out dude , but 9700 pro , sweet i want one , any good , also check my post out man maybe yer help me out lol - suse 8.1 installation l8trs.:p

3. Hardegg

Hardegg Thread Starter

Hi Blaa,
    I really do like my 9700 in win XP. verdict is out on Linux still though.
    I don't think i can be of much help though.

I can tell you many ways that installations will fail though :)

4. Hardegg

Hardegg Thread Starter