Ridiculous Specs for Hellgate London

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gamerbyron

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
2,091
Ok, this time Hellgate London is even worse than Crysis. It requires 3 GBs of ram for recommended settings, and a very high end card.
I don't wanna upgrade!:eek:
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2007
Messages
94
Apparently the game's graphics aren't nearly worth it. Most likely just a bunch of horrible coding is the result of those specs.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
2,088
yeh its worth waiting till they realise it and patch it all up:) hehe..tho the idea of the game is great
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2007
Messages
2,088
its a first person shooter, but also an rpg...so its kinda like dark messiah, butwith guns...and in london...potentially a great game...but i dont think it lives up to the hype...
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
13
Game is pretty naff to be honest, though strangely addictive...

Point, click, shoot eveything. Doesnt need the advertised specs, running on almost top setttings with 2 gig ram and a 7300gt
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2007
Messages
53
my comp runs it fine on an AMD 3800 + 2GHZ DUAL CORE -2 GIG RAM DDR2 667 AND A 512MB GEFORCE 8600GTS MINE RUNS SPOT ON :)
 
Joined
May 12, 2007
Messages
2,487
gamerbyron said:
Ok, this time Hellgate London is even worse than Crysis. It requires 3 GBs of ram for recommended settings, and a very high end card.
I don't wanna upgrade!:eek:
Umm.... actually it requires 1 gig on XP, 2 gig on Vista. Just to clarify :)
As far as settings go, it doesnt make an awful lot of difference where you go, although smoke on DX10 does tend to give a few judders.

Played and finished the game ( the end was predictable, but only after you see it LOL), and yes, it is quite samey. But then its a shooter, by its very nature it will be. How many games have new enemies on every level? At least Hellgate manages to justify the enemies. Had a few probs later in the game, crashes etc, but got there in the end, and yes, it is extremely adddictive. Engineers rock <g>
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Messages
5,037
actually the requirements to play aren't that bad
I'm playing it on DX9 med settings across the board (except object detail is high) and am having no issues at all. With better than acceptable graphics. (this on an admittedly old rig I'm trying to squeeze just a little more life out of ... 3.2GHz P4, 1GB DDR2 ram, GeForce 6800 PCIexpress, 256 MB)

As for gameplay, if you like Diablo style games you'll like it. I'm playing as a Guardian and it is pure hack and slash so far (first person isn't available if you choose this character or swordmaster, you're stuck in 3rd person view). The game does have a serious memory leak problem though so if you tend to put in long gaming sessions you may run into issues with running out of memory crashes ... not a major deal as restarting your comp will clear it up and let you restart the game where you were)

edit - added a screenshot of my low level Guardian to show what the game looks like on a rig that is barely above the games minimum specs (very playable in my opinion)
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top