1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Right Click: Explorer Crashes | Rundll32 Crash

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Backwell, Mar 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Backwell

Backwell Thread Starter

Hey, I've had a few issues with my laptop. My tech level is pretty high however I don't know how to go about fixing this because I'm new to vista. Not sure what caused the issue but recently when right clicking anywhere on my desktop Explorer.exe crashes and restarts itself.

That's not the only issue though, when coming back from being idle or turning on my computer I am greeted with multiple error pop ups. Run Dll32 has stopped working, Task Scheduler Engine has stopped working.

Thanks for your help; I am running Windows Home Premium vista 64bit, it sounds like a compatibility issue / shell. I've heard windows aero theme can cause problems but it's the only theme available without using windows blind IIRC.

2. Elvandil

Elvandil

It sounds like serious infections. Scan with at least 2 anti-malware apps and your AV.

Crashes of the context menu are usually due to an addition that is incompatible. What programs have you installed lately that may have added menu items? Check the options for those programs to see if the menu can be turned off. You can also try some of these tools to turn off some context menu entries. The Event Viewer may give you a hint about which one.

Context Edit
    ShellExView
    ShellMenuView

Configuring Windows Explorer:
    Suggested Modifications to the Context Sensitive Menus

3. Backwell

Backwell Thread Starter