1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Right Click Menu Highlight is stuck to screen

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by newguy202, Aug 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. newguy202

    newguy202 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    This may sound a little weird, and troughout all the years I have used my computer this has never happened before, nor have I ever seen it before anywhere else...today I installed the Office 2007 Beta as well as WinRAR...and this may or may not have caused it.

    Whenever I right click on my desktop and select an item in the right click menu, the blue "highlighted text" doesn't go away. Example: I right click on "my computer" to see how much disk space I have left, I right click on it, select "properties". The selected/highlighted choice does not go away...its just a visual thing. Its in front of all windows, even when shutting down or using other applications, its really annoying. When I change my screen resolution back and forth it disappears or when I restart windows. It seems transparent as well, nonetheless its a huge annoyance.

    Here are two pictures I took of this weird occurance:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    If anyone can help me, Id appreciate that.
     
  2. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Well first of all your pictures are not there. Second the Office 2007 Beta is a beta and might cause some really difficult problems and seeing as this came up after it was installed I would think it might be the cause of the problem. If it is the cause of the problem I would suggest calling Microsoft tech support to see if they give tech support on a beta program, I do not think they do.

    Also a good rule pertaining to beta's is not to install them on your main system. Install on a backup or what some call a crash so if they cause problems it will not affect your main system.

    My first suggestion on trying to fix this would be to re-install or upgrade the video driver, then reboot the computer and see if the problem still occurs.
     
  3. newguy202

    newguy202 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Hmm, I have alreaydy uninstalled the Beta. Its still there...

    Also, I had installed the beta before on this PC, and it worked fine. I don't see how it could be my video drivers, but I can give that a try. EDIT: The pictures are now up.
     
  4. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    Easy if the screen does not refresh then there might be a problem with the video drivers and this might fix it.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/488590

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice