1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Right Click Not Working ..

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by puterproblemz, Oct 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. puterproblemz

    puterproblemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Just recovered my computer (Windows Vista, Acer Aspire) and all of a sudden, my right-click doesn't work at all. I tried restarting but it's the same thing. Any idea how I can fix this? It's annoying. Lol
     
  2. dannyn

    dannyn

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,689
    Are you sure it isnt the mouse?
     
  3. puterproblemz

    puterproblemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Pretty sure. I tried with another mouse and it does the same thing.
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Does anything at all happen?
     
  5. telwat

    telwat

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    In the Registry check: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\Explorer
    NoViewContextMenu=dword: 00000000
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Can you get the context menu with the Application key on the keyboard (highlight a file, press the key between the right Windows key and Ctrl)?
     
  7. puterproblemz

    puterproblemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Yes, the Application Key works fine and so far it's been my only outlet to using the functions in the right click window
     
  8. puterproblemz

    puterproblemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    How do you check the Registry?
     
  9. jason.m

    jason.m

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Go to Start... Start->Run and type RegEdit
     
  10. puterproblemz

    puterproblemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Hmm, I checked that path and it goes up into the Policies folder and Explorer NoViewContextMenu=dword: 00000000 is no where to be found.
     
  11. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Create a new one and give it the value 0.
     
  12. puterproblemz

    puterproblemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    How do you create a new one?
     
  13. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Edit > New
     
  14. puterproblemz

    puterproblemz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    So do I create a new one in a new Explorer folder or just in Policies? Sorry, I'm illiterate when it comes to the registry. ha
     
  15. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Just in Policies/Explorer. That wasn't too clear.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Right Click Working
  1. sarahenrybooth
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    552
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/759475

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice