1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Risky Connection

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Giant Octopus, Jan 15, 2020.

Advertisement
  1. Giant Octopus

    Giant Octopus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Hi

    For the past few days whenever I boot up my computer and launch my browser (Firefox) I keep getting this
    [​IMG]

    I traced that IP to Holland. Now the good news is McAfee keeps blocking it, but I just want to know why this keeps happening on a daily basis. (Everyday for a few days now). Its getting annoying.
     
  2. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    63,911
    First Name:
    Chuck
    Does Firefox launch with a blank screen or does it load one or more pages on start-up? If it loads pages, try changing your settings to open without opening any web pages and see if the warning goes away.

    Do you have any add-ons installed on Firefox? If so, try restarting Firefox with add-on disabled (under Help in menu bar) and see if you still get the warning. If you do not get a warning, try reenabling the add-ons one at a time until you get the warning.
     
  3. Giant Octopus

    Giant Octopus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    No the screen is blank when it launchs.
    Also I have only 3 addons
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2020
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,474
    First Name:
    James
    Try disabling/removing the Video DownloadHelper. Perhaps there is some download in there that is trying to get to the IP.

    Also, as it was suggested by Chuck, try Firefox in Safe Mode.
     
    Giant Octopus likes this.
  5. Giant Octopus

    Giant Octopus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    That seems to be it. I shut down the Download Helper and then I booted up my computer and launched Firefox, I had no problems.

    Thats too bad because I loved using the DH. It was great for downloading YouTube videos. Oh well.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  6. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    114,939
    Which is an activity that we don't support because it goes against YouTube's TOS.
     
  7. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,474
    First Name:
    James
    You could also create a playlist in Youtube and add all the videos you like in there... ;) but I am glad that we found the cause and solution, just be careful of using programs/add-ons like these that goes against website/service policies.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1238751

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice