RJ11 to RJ 45

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

charlieyn3

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 12, 2008
Messages
53
i bought a ptel2 surge protector with a a rj 11 and would love to convert the rj 11 to rj 45 so i can use it on my pc , wat are the colour combinations and which pins du i connect
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,660
You're better off just buying a surge protector with the RJ45 ports. Not sure if I have seen a surge protector with one though.
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,660
You'll need to dig a trench and put down conduit to run the cable. Also, I would look into getting environment grade/shielded category cabling. If I was going through this expense, I would pull at a minimum Cat 6 and maybe even Cat6a. Plus I wouldn't just pull one, I would do at a minimum 2 cables maybe 4. The majority of the cost is going to be the labor to do this. The cabling is only going to be a fraction of the labor costs.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
If going to that much trouble, I would put a Cat5 to fiber optic media converter on each end, and run 60m of duplex fiber optic cable between them. Cost would be about $400 for the media converters and cable, but lightening and surge suppression would no longer be an issue.
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,660
If going to that much trouble, I would put a Cat5 to fiber optic media converter on each end, and run 60m of duplex fiber optic cable between them. Cost would be about $400 for the media converters and cable, but lightening and surge suppression would no longer be an issue.
Forgot to mention having the need to properly ground the cable.

But I'm curious about the break down of that $400 figure.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
Newegg has the media converters around $125-150 each, and charlieyn3 would need two; and estimate about $150-200 for the cable. So probably more like $500 total.
 

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
6,660
Are these media converters GigE capable?

And just as a side note, not all media converters are created equal. You really need to buy from a good outfit with a good return policy. I've used all sorts of media converters in my career to include SignaMax, Transition Networks, and Canary. We tried to save money one time and bought a cheap alternative to the SignaMax. We ordered a few of them and not one of them worked.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,423
And for ignoring my post and closing of the other thread charlieyn3 will be enjoying a three day time out. Closing.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top