1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RJ11 to RJ45 ?? A to D

Discussion in 'Networking' started by pthres, Jun 26, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pthres

    pthres Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    198
    Hi guys,


    Is is possible to get a cable RJ11 ( laptop 56k modem socket ) to RJ45 ( ISDN ) ???

    If so where??
    Can a 56k modem directly connect to an ISDN line ( obviously this is not an "ISDN" connection so the benefits of 64k and 128k are not going to be possible but, is the above feasible??
     
  2. GOTzMADsKILLz

    GOTzMADsKILLz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    431
    no as the actual lines do different things for each.
     
  3. Nick Scott

    Nick Scott

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,818
    GMK is absolutely right.

    56K modems are analogue.
    ISDN is digital.

    They can't talk to each other.
     
  4. pthres

    pthres Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    198
    Sorry guys, pretty much knew that...........what I should've asked is:- is there a converter kit that can be bought to meet the requirements.....

    sorry.....should've been more clear......


    maybe there's a peice of kit that can be used via the onboard NIC???
     
  5. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    NO....Nick made it quite clear....analog & digital
     
  6. GOTzMADsKILLz

    GOTzMADsKILLz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    431
    If there is, I've never seen of it or heard of it. Sorry. I do think that it is possible though, as Phone companies use similar devices to convert the analog signal from your phone into digital for sending across fibre to other cities (long distances) etc, but something like that would be waaaaaay out of my price range. lol It probably doesn't exist for something for the average consumer though.
     
  7. pthres

    pthres Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    198
    Cheers guys :)

    I'm with your thinking GMK , thought there would be something along those lines, after all Rockn, Nick might have made it quite clear but that's what a modem does anyway, it changes digital to analogue then back again...........
     
  8. okitsme3000

    okitsme3000

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/84884

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice