1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Rogue computer does not detect network. Network doesn't detect it.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mrsaturn, Feb 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mrsaturn

    mrsaturn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    3 computer network. Linksys router daisychained with a switch, which is chained to a wireless access point.

    Everything works fine apart from the one computer. It is not getting an IP from the router. It does not get the internet connection. It cannot share files with the other two computers. Basically acts as though it's not even plugged into the network.

    So I go for the obvious and assume it's a wire or bad plug, and try hooking the rogue's end up to my laptop. Laptop works fine, gets net and can share files. I check the NIC and it's detected and working properly.

    Must be a software issue. Windows XP Pro is not happy. It's a fresh install after a format. I've run the wizard with the 'connects through a residential gateway' as opposed to the 'connects directly to the internet'. I tried the latter but it says cannot complete setup.

    The two lights on the card are blinking. The lights on the router corresponding to the rogue computer light up just the the others. I've tried moving it to the switch; no dice.

    What could be the problem?
     
  2. bowmar

    bowmar

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Hi MrSaturn,

    Looking at what you have diagnosed, you seem to have covered most things, my only concern would be the NIC, although you say it is detected & working properly (Lights Blinking Etc), that does not rule it out, from what you have posted i would swap the NIC out just to confirm/rule out. I have had same sitaution and by all accounts NIC was fine, it was faulty and misreporting !
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  4. mrsaturn

    mrsaturn Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    I tried the ip reset, and the computer still won't get an IP from the router. It's off on it's own 164.xx.xx.xx something range.

    I guess it is pointing to the NIC. <Groan> I hate admitting a hardware problem. Will try ripping it out tonight.
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Make sure you are using a known working network card, cable and port on the router. Given that it was a fresh XP install it seemed unlikely that the protocol stack had gotten corrupted that soon.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/325892

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice