Router and Cable Modem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Appreciate some assistance.

Have a PC running W-Millenium. Going to format the hard drive (too many programs installed, virus problems, spyware, etc.) and reinstall the OS.

The current PC uses a cable ISP (Charter.net), and is connected to a router and a cable modem.

After installing the OS to a clean Hard Drive, installing drivers for video, sound card, etc., and some programs, the PC needs to be connected back to the router and the cable modem to establish an Internet connection.

Might be a super dumb question, but, which software should be installed first, that of the router, that of the cable modem, or does it matter?

Any guidance somewhere that shows the steps needed to connect the PC to both a router and a cable modem?
 
Joined
May 3, 2003
Messages
2,612
Does not your router and cable modem come with instructions, or at least have you looked on the manufacturers site for connection advice?
 
Joined
May 28, 2003
Messages
2,366
I don't believe it makes any difference, but since you probably first went cable modem > router, I'd do the same order again. After all, you know that works.
 

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Thanks for the replies.

Doing this for someone else, and a friend connected all for him, so he has no clue of what was done.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Plug in the cable from the client to the router, boot the client. You're connected. :D
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,157
If your account is already setup [with the isp] and the modem is working, you should be able to just connect your nic card to the router. You may need to install drivers for the nic [if windows does not have a driver]

I have dsl connected to a router; when I format and reload there is no problem connecting.
 

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Would have to install the software for the cable modem??
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
41,157
As long as you have a connection from the modem to the router and it is working, no there should not be any software to install for your cable modem.
Just so I understand you have your modem connected to the router and the computer connected to the router is that correct? If so just connect the computer to the router and you will be online. Provided your nic card is working ie drivers installed.
 

FZWG

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
974
Good!!

Thank you very much for the info.

Have always had a plain old modem...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top