1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

router and networking help

Discussion in 'Networking' started by NewElemenT, Nov 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NewElemenT

NewElemenT Thread Starter

I need help, please. I am a network newbie. I am having major problems with a local network. I reside at an extended stay hotel and the manager added broadband internet but cannot add a wired connection to each room. The manager decided to use routers. The connection is setup as follows:
    modem -> main router (Netgear) -> senao router -> other router
    the main router was hijacked by a resident. I offered to help with the setup of a new router. I have administration login and control of the router. The router works fine but now it seems as though the other routers may be hijacked. I am not trained enough to recognize what is happening. I need someone to explain to me what is happening with this setup.
    Here is what I am seeing:
    Everyday someone is connected with what a device listed as being an Android in the router. Third-party tools show it as a Samsung Electronics device. The mac address is always the same but it has multiple ip addresses that I cannot ping. I am aware that Vista and Windows 7 cannot be pinged by default. I am concerned that this person has attached a modem to the network and is stealing bandwidth or this person has hijacked the other routers somehow. I cannot make sense out of what I see in the log files versus the attached devices.
    Today, the log file shows this entry:
    [DHCP IP: 192.168.1.86] to MAC address 8c:64:22:4a:e4:dc, Tuesday, November 29,2011 08:37:45
    the attached devices:
    192.168.1.15 8C:64:22:4A:E4:DC UA105341346
    there is no .1.86 connected PLUS I am listed as a wireless intruder?