1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Router causing disconnects from WoW/ventrilo

Discussion in 'Games' started by resque, Sep 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. resque

    resque Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Not sure whether this is gaming or connection problems, so feel free to move if it's in the wrong place.

    Several times over the last couple of weeks both during the day and in the evening, I have been disconnected from the world of warcraft and ventrilo server. There are no latency issues in game, it just suddenly disconnects me requiring me to login again. The problems started when I switched to NTL and the 1mb connection (which should be more than enough) and had to use a router rather than connecting both PCs to the BT cable modem.

    My partner has the same problems but the disconnects aren't simultaneous, they aren't timed and seem random (both from ventrilo and the server). Other programs such as teamspeak and msn messanger are unaffected.

    Use the built in XP firewall, and a sitecom DC-202v5 router. I tried setting up port forwarding/static IPs and that didn't help. Playing without the router stopped the disconnects though. The cables were used when we had a BT modem and they were fine then. My network card is a TE100-PCBUSR 32-Bit Cardbus PC Card and that has also been fine before so the problem isn't there. Both PCs have Ethernet connections to the router. So today I tried a new router (without port forwarding), figuring that was the problem and the disconnects were worse :confused:

    Both running windows XP.

    here's a tracert to the WoW server from when the problem first started:

    Tracing route to 80.239.181.20 over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.123.254
    2 23 ms 9 ms 9 ms 10.128.120.1
    3 27 ms 8 ms 23 ms cmbg-t2cam1-a-ge94.inet.ntl.com [80.1.202.21]
    4 12 ms 17 ms 25 ms cmbg-t2core-a-ge-wan62.inet.ntl.com [80.1.201.37]
    5 11 ms 10 ms 9 ms pop-bb-a-so-132-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.188.193]
    6 12 ms 15 ms 11 ms win-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.202]
    7 54 ms 40 ms 52 ms win-bb-a-ae0-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.161]
    8 21 ms 22 ms 16 ms bre-bb-b-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [213.105.172.234]
    9 25 ms 39 ms 29 ms telc-ic-1-as0-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.188.121]
    10 23 ms 34 ms 49 ms ldn-b2-link.telia.net [213.248.100.37]
    11 23 ms 27 ms 51 ms ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.249.186]
    12 35 ms 33 ms 73 ms prs-bb1-pos6-0-0.telia.net [213.248.64.9]
    13 29 ms 47 ms 49 ms prs-b2-pos15-0.telia.net [213.248.65.222]
    14 52 ms 48 ms 59 ms prs-nant-ks51-geth0-2.telia.net [213.248.98.78]
    15 * *

    Please let me know if you need any more information or have any ideas how I can stop this happening because it is annoying at best.
     
  2. reaper616

    reaper616

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    336
    This is most likely the WoW servers, they have been playing up with me lately, but i would just check the cables going into your Router.

    Does it also disconnect when you are on the internet browsing?
     
  3. resque

    resque Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    This has been happening roughly once an hour since the start of August. So we went from no problems to wiping occasionally because the main healer got chucked. Checked all the cables, hell even tried different cables from my connection.

    Normal browsing and teamspeak are fine. It's just WoW and vent (although the vent server is notoriously unreliable).
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    You might check with your router vendor and see if there is a firmware upgrade available. But I wonder if you have really connected long enough bypassing the router to determine it is definitely a router issue.

    Is this your firmware version?

    DC-202(v5) Broadband xDSL/ cable router 4S
    Firmware 1.97e4
     
  5. resque

    resque Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Current firmware version was R1.97a11. Going to try upgrading it now. Thanks.

    I've played for an evening without the router and had no disconnects at all. My boyfriend played for 24 hours (about 14 online) when I was away and had no disconnects. This is compared to a disconnect roughly every hour (longest we've gone is maybe 1.5 hours) with the router connected, whether 1 PC is online or both of them. That's why I'm presuming it was the router, although the problem has now happened with both routers we tried (admittedly I didn't try port forwarding on the second one).

    Seriously, thanks for letting me run ideas past you and all suggestions welcome.
     
  6. reaper616

    reaper616

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    336
    It probably was the router, just try and get firmwear upgrade and that may sort it out :D

    Good luck
     
  7. blaine2521

    blaine2521

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Try accessing your router and allowing your POP3 server.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Router causing disconnects
  1. SoDangUnlucky
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    458
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/504555

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice