1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Router Configuration - 192.168.1.1 Not Working

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MrChrome45, Jun 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MrChrome45

    MrChrome45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I am running a Netgear WGR614V5. I can connect fine to the internet and everything using the tourer but I cannot connect to the router configuration page. I did have a password setup on it, but I was connecting to it earlier today fine. For some reason the reset button does not seem to be working. When I ping 192.168.1.1 none of the packets are received. When I put in ipconfig /all this is what comes up.
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.mi.comcast.net.

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.mi.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : CNet PRO200 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapte
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-08-A1-31-A0-97
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.41.138.90
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 68.41.136.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.77.13
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.77.130
    68.87.72.130
     
  2. Soundy

    Soundy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,834
    That IP address is really strange for being behind a router - looks like something your ISP provided, as if the computer was plugged into the cable modem directly. First thing I'd suggest is make sure the cable modem is plugged into the router's WAN port, not one of the LAN ports.
     
  3. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Yes, that looks like a direct connection to the modem.
     
  4. MrChrome45

    MrChrome45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    It's all connected properly.
     
  5. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
    Do a hard reset of the router and then another ipconfig
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, I have to disagree. It appears you have the modem connected to one of the LAN ports of the router, not the WAN port. If it's really connected to the WAN port, then a factory reset of the router is in order.
     
  7. Soundy

    Soundy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,834
    Agreed... either that, or there's something SERIOUSLY wrong with the router.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/589009