1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Router DSL modem connection problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by CAdidas333, Jun 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CAdidas333

CAdidas333 Thread Starter

Hi everyone.

I work as a tech consultant, and I am stumped on this one.

I am working at a clients house. She has purchased DSL sevice though a hole-in-the-wall company called superpa.net.

They have given me particular parameters to make the computer connect to their POS system.

Set IP Address: 192.168.1.3
    Set Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Preferred DNS Server: 63.169.216.98 alternate 204.117.214.10

Well that is all fine a good and the computer connects just great. But my client just bought a new laptop and wants wireless. Wireless is simple, well it should be.

I got her a basic Linksys Wireless-G WRT54G Router. Nothing Fancy.

Now obviously, the router must use the same setting as the computer. So I went in to the Config, and made it a static ip with all of the listed above. I changed the computer back to the auto obtain ip address and dns server, but I HAVE NOTHING!

The modem shows a conncetion to the router, and her computer shows a connection the router, but there is NO activity between the modem and router. No activity=No Internet

I called Linksys, they told me to contact my ISP, then called Superpa.net, they said they dont do any support for wireless, only for one hardlined computer. They would sent someone out to fix it $200/service call + $60/hour... I said forget it.

Anyone with any suggestions or solutions... I would be much abliged!!!!

Thanks,
    Chris

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry