1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

router is suddenly blocking x-box connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by apg, Feb 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. apg

    apg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Until yesterday my various equipment was networking to each other and the internet without a problem. After i reset my d-link DSL-2640B router (would this initiate an update?) my x-box would not connect to the internet, There is no problem connecting to the router and the home network. Everything is talking to each other and everything else is connected to the internet including the TV. The router must just be blocking the x-box and only from yesterday. I checked ports that are talked about and i think i set up port triggering, but then noticed the firewall is disabled anyway. I have no real knowledge of networking. I presume a setting has changed blocking just the xbox connecting. The provider is a waste of time to get help from,
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    make and model of the router
    how is the xbox connected by cable or by wireless

    can we see an ipconfig /all from a working PC
    and also from the xbox network settings - what IPs you have

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    then type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. apg

    apg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    As i said in the post the router is a d-link DSL-2640B, the x-box is wifi but i tried it hard wired and also using a network bridge to my pc. All ip configs are are visable, the x box also has an ip 1.7 at the moment. IP settings are auto subnetmask and gateway the same as the pc. DNS is auto.

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : andy-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Anchorfree HSS Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-FF-6F-2A-75-32
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-A0-91-AA-68
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::10d1:7068:5b5e:e349%8(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 14 February 2013 10:54:33
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 15 February 2013 10:54:32
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 167778976
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-8C-45-37-00-1A-A0-91-AA-68
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.67.222.123
    208.67.220.123
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    from the PC try and ping the xbox

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests

    For Windows 8
    to open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.

    This should work for all windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    then type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    Ping 192.168.1.7
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
     
  5. apg

    apg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\andy>ping 192.168.1.7

    Pinging 192.168.1.7 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.7:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\andy>
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try putting in some manual settings on the xbox and choose a different IP - say 192.168.1.99 and also the DNS from the ipconfig you posted

    then try pinging that new ip 192.168.1.99

    do you have mac filtering on in the router at all or any reserved IP addresses
     
  7. apg

    apg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Same result with the manual settings. Mac restrict mode is disabled and as far as i can see no reserved ip address.
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    with the cable that you are using for the xbox to connect to the router and the same port - connect that to the PC and do a powercycle - see below
    does the pc work

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes,
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a separate device) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. apg

    apg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Sorry i didn`t make myself clear. I am using the wifi at the moment to connect the xbox. Yesterday i used the cable that i was using to connect the pc to the router to connect the x-box to the router direct, which made no difference. I also used a bridge by connecting the laptop to the internet with the wifi and the xbox to the laptop by cable. Still no joy. Just to check again I have now plugged the xbox into the router by cable and doesn`t work. I then turned everything off. After turning the router back on i turned only the xbox back on and it is now working. I then turned all the stuff connected to the internet on 1 by 1 to check for conflict. Everything was ok. I also changed back to automatic ip on the x-box. Then the whole internet stopped working. This is a problem caused by my goflex network drive. It is a continuing problem i have with it. I turned it off and reset the router. This then caused the x box not to work again. I then power cycled again, not working. Changed back to manual settings and power cycled again, only starting the x box. It is working again. So i will leave for 20 minutes or so and start turning on everything to see if i get a problem again. But the download rate on the x box, at least, is extremely slow now.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    hows it going now ?
     
  11. apg

    apg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    So far so good. It has been ok. Today i will connect the network drive and see if that causes the problem.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089447

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice