router port not working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

aznmidude

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
7
I have opened a port on my router using the directions from www.portforward.com; however recently the ports that I opened still don't work. Most recently, I was trying to clear my computer of the virtumonde virus. I'm not sure if I cleared it all, but I cleared it to the point where my computer seems to be running fairly normal. The last thing though, is that the ports that I previously had opened, aren't open. Even though I check the router by accessing the 192.168.1.1 through IE; the ports say they are enabled, but when I try using them outside, it doesn't work.

I have a linksys WRTG54 router; computer was custom built about 4-5 years ago. Internet works fine, it's just these ports that are supposed to be open that arent... Any help is appreciated!
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
The virus would not have changed anything on the router, so if the port forwards worked before, it's not the router assuming nothing has changed there.

Please go to ShieldsUp and run a port scan on the ports in question and post the results here in a screenshot.


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

aznmidude

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
7
Here's the shieldsup shot... when i ran it on the other ports, it also said that ALL my ports were stealth... i am behind a linksys router, although I don't know if that has to do with anything...
 

Attachments

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Obviously, the ports are not forwarded through the router, since they don't show up at all.
 

aznmidude

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
7
Err, why do you say that... I checked the router settings by typing in the address (192.168.1.1) and on there it is saved as having those ports forwarded. I don't understand if they aren't forwarded, why would the router keep it saved?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I have no idea, how about posting a screen shot of the router's configuration screens, and an IPCONFIG /ALL from the computer in question?


To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
 

aznmidude

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
7
strange, when I type ipconfig in run, a window pops up for a split second before disappearing... this happens everytime i type it. as for router settings, I didn't know which page you wanted so I just posted the port forwarding page, and security page... what else is necessary?
 

Attachments

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I'd like to see an IPCONFIG /ALL for the computer in question.
 

aznmidude

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
7
same thing, when i type ipconfig /all... it flashes the windows prompt screen, then closes in a split second. i don't know how else to do it.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You're not doing the IPCONFIG command correctly.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
 

aznmidude

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 9, 2008
Messages
7
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : mclaren-f1
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce MCP Networking Control
ler
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-6E-E6-45-DB
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.69.146
68.87.85.98
68.87.78.130
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, September 26, 2008 4:19:47 P
M
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 27, 2008 4:19:47
PM
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2008
Messages
1,056
If i were you i would reset your router to default and then redo the port forwarding. Don't forget to change the defualt user name/password and set WPA back up again. This might not fix the problem per say, but it may fix yoru problem.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Since you forwarded to 192.168.1.100 and the computer has an IP address of 192.168.1.101, it's not surprising it doesn't work. As I said, you don't actually have the ports forwarded to the computer.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top