1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Router Problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by LauraMJ, Apr 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LauraMJ

    LauraMJ Administrator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    13,290
    A friend of mine is having a problem with connecting to secure sites (other sites are fine). We've narrowed it down to her router. Both her PC and her Ipod cannot connect to secure sites via the router, but when connected directly into the d-link, both will connect to secure sites.

    Any ideas about what is going on? Or does she need to buy a new router? Is there a way to "reset" it? Like unplugging it or something? She didn't tell me what router it is, but I can find out if anyone needs to know that.

    Thanks for any suggestions! :)
     
  2. tomdkat

    tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,148
    The d-link what?

    Peace...
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Some things you can try here.

    1. Update the firmware to the latest version available on the manufacturer's site.
    2. Reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure.

    Many times these measures will resolve a lot of intermittent issues.
     
  4. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Name and and model # of your router would be helpful.
    Generally,most routers have a recessed button somewhere on the case,most probably on the side or bottom.
    Hold it down for about 15-30 seconds(might need a pencil tip to get into that space).That should restore the router to its factory defaults.
    You will then need to know/remember what the default password/userid,was.Your users manual should contain that info.Typical default is admin/admin,but yours may be different.
     
  5. LauraMJ

    LauraMJ Administrator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    13,290
    Thanks! We'll give those two things a try! :)
     
  6. LauraMJ

    LauraMJ Administrator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    13,290
    Updating the firmware did it. All's working now. :)
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Good deal, glad it worked out. :)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/701691

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice