1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

router problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mikis, Jan 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mikis

    mikis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    My son installed a new netgear router (which my son gave me) for me during the holidays. I am not at all literate with computers. I own an HP laptop with Windows Vista but I can't get on internet wirelessly. I also have an ipad and cell phone but I can get on internet wirelessly with these two. I can get a wireless connection elsewhere but not from my own wireless connection. When I try to access the internet via Mozilla Firefox (or Internet explorer) wirelessly, I get msg saying "Server not found. Firefox can't find the server www.msn.com"

    I contacted Netgear but they say they can't troubleshoot a router supplied by Comcast and comcast won't troubleshoot b/c I didn't purchase the router from them. I have no idea where to even begin to troubleshoot. Does anyone have any idea what I can do to get this set up correctly? Thank you for any help you can offer.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have another PC on the network at all

    I assume the PC works OK connected by cable -

    can you post an ipconfig /all and an xirrus screen shot -
    I want to check if you have a 5007 adapter at all - and also if you can detect the wireless and some info about the wireless

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    This should also work for windows 8
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. mikis

    mikis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    My SSID is WillowOn2. I've attached two word docs/print screens of what, I'm hoping, you requested. I'm not good at this side of computers:confused: I hope this gives you the info you requested/need to see what's going on.

    Again, thank you so much for your help :D
     

    Attached Files:

  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
  5. mikis

    mikis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    I've tried to take the steps, from the link you gave, to find the model number but can't seem to get where I need to go to find it. I have my p/n and s/n and I have a sticker still on my laptop that says "HP Pavillion dv6910us Entertainment Notebook PC" but I don't know if that's the model number or not. I'm on HP's web site. There is a link to update drivers but they list many drivers and I don't know which driver to update. Can I just update the driver from my pc directly from HP's web site?
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i'm having trouble with that site at the moment - so go here
    AR5007
    Vista 32 / 64 Bit
    Direct link Drivers for Atheros AR5007 and Windows Vista 32 / 64 bit
    You only need to click on the green download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started

    For Vista;
    > Start Globe
    > Control Panel
    > System and maintenance
    > Scroll down to Device manager
    > network adaptors, click on the + >
    > Right click on the AR5007 Adapter
    > click on Update Driver Software...
    > click on Browse my computer for driver software
    > click on the Button Browse...
    > Locate the folder you extracted the downloaded zip file to
    > Next
    Click OK and Windows will install the driver for you.
     
  7. mikis

    mikis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    I follow all the steps listed but I can't find the file where the download was saved. It's listed at Miki/App Date/Local/Temp/file name but I can't file APP DATA. What could I be doing wrong?
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you change the location you save the file to , when you click on the download
     
  9. mikis

    mikis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    yes and no. I can change to save or download. Maybe I don't know how to change where; or maybe the location is in a setting somewhere. I can view the location from the 'download' window but can't find the location path when I look for it. I've even tried to copy/past the file into a path I can find but it won't paste.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Open file manager
    goto
    >tools
    >Folder Options
    >View TAB
    Click on "show hidden folders and files"

    now go back to file manager
    are you Miki

    so goto
    C:/users
    miki
    then you should see the path now
    appdata
    Local
    Temp
    file - which maybe the file name
     
  11. mikis

    mikis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    OMG, so close. I located the file I downloaded but there is no OK button. I can open the zip folder but merely get 3 files. There is no action button.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i have just downloaded

    you extract the file onto the PC
    should see a 8 files from the extract

    the file we want is the netathv.inf

    so you now need to install
    For Vista;
    > Start Globe
    > Control Panel
    > System and maintenance
    > Scroll down to Device manager
    > network adaptors, click on the + >
    > Right click on the AR5007 Adapter
    > click on Update Driver Software...
    > click on Browse my computer for driver software
    > click on the Button Browse...
    > Locate the folder you extracted the downloaded zip file and the file named netathv.inf
    > Next
    Click OK and Windows will install the driver for you.
     
  13. mikis

    mikis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    I followed steps and received msg "best driver software for your device is already installed".
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you need to force the install - rather than search the PC

    let me find the instructions again - I missed a bit - something like - I have disk
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    OK

    > Start Globe
    > Control Panel
    > System and maintenance
    > Scroll down to Device manager
    > network adaptors, click on the + >
    > Right click on the AR5007 Adapter
    > click on Update Driver Software...
    > click on Browse my computer for driver software
    > let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer
    > Have Disk
    > click on the Button Browse...
    > Locate the folder you extracted the zip folder
    > you may see two files with .inf
    > this is the one you need netathv.inf
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085211

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice