Router problems

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

xps21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
3
I have the linksys BEFW11S4 2.4 ghz 802.11b and this router keeps disconnecting. i dont know whether it is something i did wrong or is it just random and i have no clue how to fix it.

and also i dont no whether if i have dsl i should use a gateway or a router. This is for my problem because my router does not work with my xbox360. i think i have a compatable model but not the right version or firmware, but i dont understand much of that. so if anyone can help me get on live with the use of my router it would be nice. below is a link of the compatable models for 360.


http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/connecttolive/xbox360/homenetworking/equipment.htm
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Did you download the latest firmware? How about resetting the router to factory defaults and reconfiguring? Is this a wired or wireless connection to the XBOX? What is the specific version of your router? Note that the BEFW11S4 (v4) is listed as compatible, but the BEFW11S4 (v2) is listed as not compatible. If you don't have the V4 model, perhaps that's one of the issues.
 

xps21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
3
ya i believe my router is v2 but i dont know where to get v4 and also i couldn't find any places really to get the latest firmware. My router is basically factory defaults all i did was put in my acc information becausee i am using dsl. For the xbox, im going for wired connection first and if that works ill buy a wireless adapter, which hopefully will work if i get things to work. So right now i think for the xbox it is a compatability issue and i dont know where to upgrade the version and firmware. If you could get me a link for that it woudl help.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I think you may need to shop for a new router. You can't upgrade from V2 to V4 with firmware, it's different hardware.
 

xps21

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
3
ok so if i were to get a new router, based on the compatable list,which one would be the best for me, by the way i have dsl. (biggest problem is either a router or gateway)
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
I can't say which would be best, I'd pick from the compatible list and shop on price. :)
(biggest problem is either a router or gateway)
What does this mean? :confused:
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,401
"Gateway" often means modem/router combo, but sometimes means router and sometimes means modem. Decide whether you want a router or a modem/router combo and then look at the specs of potential products to see what they really are.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top