1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Router software

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by D.Arbib, Apr 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. D.Arbib

    D.Arbib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    I have a perfectly good ST 780 WL router which is fine for XP and for Vista 32 and 64 bit (with a specially provided 64 bit driver software download). But Thomson refuses provide driver software for Windows 7 64 bit, sadly

    However as I am unable to obtain driver software from Thomson for Windows 7 64 bit and I probably will have to buy a more up-to-date router.

    That, in itself is no problem, but I cannot find from Lynksis or Netgear or any other ADSL router whether the support CD will have Windows 7 64 bit usb driver software which can be updated in Device Manager of Windows 7 64 bit

    Please can anyone advise.
     
  2. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Computers don't need drivers or software to connect to routers. You listed your experience level as Advanced, so can you explain what you installed? Do you know the basics of networking?
     
  3. D.Arbib

    D.Arbib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    I am aware of your comment, but it is untidy to have one of the router front panel lights permanently extinguished
     
  4. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Huh? I have no idea what you're talking about.
     
  5. D.Arbib

    D.Arbib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    OK dear friend. Router generally have a usb connection whose driver is updates in Device Manager and as in my current router ST 780WL the support CD has a driver for XP 32 bit. Susequently I was able to extract form the manufacturer of the router driver softare for Vista 64 bit but refuse to do so for Windows 7 64 bit which is why I am trying to locacte one that does
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,387
    First Name:
    David
  7. D.Arbib

    D.Arbib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    {Precisely I have had quite a few e-mail correspondences with Technicloer (Thomson) and they cosistently refuse to provide the appropriate driver software for Windows 7 for my router (though they did for Vista 64 bit which I have on a CD). This is why I am looking out for a new router which will have a support CD that will contain a proper driver for 64 bit Windows 7
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,913
    First Name:
    Terry
    A few routers have a USB LAN connection. :) And I suspect that most of them are older.
     
  9. D.Arbib

    D.Arbib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Really? I had a look in PCWorld today and of those I looked at, all had usb connection to computer and lights on the front that confirms that the usb driver has been duly updated in Device Manager. And, indeed the staff in PCWorld confirmed that and gave me some phone numbers being 08774667165 and 08081019217. So far I have not had much joy with these contacts.
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,913
    First Name:
    Terry
    Two countries separated by a common language! :) On this side of the pond they are pretty rare I think, and I don't remember coming across any USB LAN on a stand alone router or a cable modem/router combination.

    With luck you can find on the router manufacturer's web site any software and manuals that they supply on an included CD, so you may be able to tell that way about Windows 7 software. Is a computer lacking an ethernet adapter or the ethernet is being used for another purpose? I ask because many people would prefer to connect by ethernet.
     
  11. D.Arbib

    D.Arbib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Yes, of course I have a LAN connection otherwise I could not send you a reply. The point is only that all the routers I have seen hava a usb cinnection and it requires to be acticated in device manager, I have a CD for my router and it is OK for Windows 7 32 bit but not for 64bit which requires different softare as it did for Vista 64 bit
     
  12. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You're the first person from the UK who has said that they can only buy routers with USB connections. I've never heard of that before. A search for routers on Amazon's UK site reveals hundreds that don't appear to require a USB connection. I suspect we're having a communication problem here since I highly doubt all routers in the UK require a USB connection.
     
  13. D.Arbib

    D.Arbib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    Well. it was only the tech guys in my local PC world in kensington who confirmed precisely that and, indeed, my Thomson ST780WL does and in 32 bit is updated from the CD. Thomson gave me the update driver details for Vista 64 bit but are not supporting my router any further.

    This is my reason for trying to buy a more update router whose CD could contain the driver details for Windows 7 64 bit to update the usb item in Device Manager. All I am asking is for you to advise me in this matter
     
  14. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    I think you would be better off getting your support over there across the pond. I have yet to find a router that didn't work with Windows 7. But none of the routers I have encountered in the past 5 months since Windows 7 came out relied on a USB connection. That would be utterly stupid considering the use of Wireless technologies. The only time you should ever have to hard wire yourself to a router is when it is brand new and you have to do the initial setup physically connected to the router.
     
  15. D.Arbib

    D.Arbib Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    95
    This is the response from Thomson


    Dear Mr. Arbib,

    Thank you for contacting Thomson Technical Support.

    Your reference number with our helpdesk is: 24515039

    I have spoken to you concerning the SpeedTouch 780 WL and Windows 7. As per our conversation, the issue regarding the plan to not support Windows 7 for this device will be escalated to Thomson. Also, I recommended the 789n to you. However, if you are thinking about integrating fiber in the future the internal switch of the 789n and 799n is a Gigabit switch and you will be able to adapt the fiber connections to ethernet rather than to plug the fiber line direct to the router. With the TG 546 you could plug the fiber line directly to the router, but this would be more for an internal network application. I still recommend either the 789 n or 799 n for your home network.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Router software
  1. Vlada
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    454
  2. bushfilm
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    834
  3. warlock1946
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    451
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916966

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice