Router stopped passing internet

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Avcarter

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2018
Messages
2
My Netgear R6220 spontaneously stopped passing the internet signal from the modem. I have verified with the ISP that the problem is not the modem, and checked that the router is still broadcasting wifi, albeit with no internet. At the time this happened two computers were plugged into the router via ethernet, and only one dropped off the internet initially. But once I rebooted, that was it.
So far, I have rebooted the modem and router, hard reset the router, uploaded new firmwear for the router, run all the Windows 10 diagnostics and checked that the settings are for automatic ip addressing.
I've looked at several similar threads, but nothing quite matches, and I believe I have tried all the fixes I've seen. I don't think the computer itself is an issue, since it's working fine with the modem, and two computers were affected, but it's a Dell XPS with i7-3770 processor and 32 GB of RAM
I'm using straight connection to the modem now. Any help is appreciated.
here is the result of running ipconfig when the router is plugged in:

Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Main

Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-B1-1C-9E-C9-D7

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d1c3:6fa7:d688:f539%13(Preferred)

IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.3(Preferred)

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, September 29, 2018 7:14:29 AM

Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, September 30, 2018 7:14:26 AM

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 361804060

DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-19-03-AF-53-9C-2A-70-48-2D-57

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1703 802.11b|g|n (2.4GHz)

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 9C-2A-70-48-2D-57

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 3:



Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter #3

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1E-2A-70-48-2D-57

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes



Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 5:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter #4

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 2E-2A-70-48-2D-57

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth PAN HelpText

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 9C-2A-70-48-2D-58

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,394
Reset the router to factory defaults. If it still does not work buy a new one (or get it replaced if under warranty or owned by the ISP).

I can give such a short answer because your post was very thorough, missing only this one step. Whoops! Just reread the post and see that you already did this step! Pretty sure you have a defective router.
 

Avcarter

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2018
Messages
2
thanks, I was coming to that conclusion, but wanted to exhaust as many options as possible.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
39,883
just curious what happens if you ping certain sites by name and IP... If you want we can run through that if you wish
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top