1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Router, wifi and PC

Discussion in 'General Security' started by tre12, May 24, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tre12

    tre12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    I recently got a new PC and wish to buy a good antivirus and VPN.
    I have a bunch of questions I could use a good answer to. I really need to make sure I'm safe. Please, answer all my questions and as precisely as you can. I need to get his done soon. You'd be doing me a huge favor.

    1. What is the best antivirus out there and should I install it first then install the VPN?
    I was recommended to use TrustZone.

    I will check if there are anymore Windows 10 updates and can just buy the antivirus? 2. It would allow me to install the VPN when bought(TrustZone)?

    ?
    I don't want to mess this up..

    3. What do I need to do when I purchase a VPN to ensure it will encrypt all my data from PC? I understand if I ask for it to be on my PC then if someone is snooping via my router/network or LAN/WiFi can't see anything I;m doing? Is it enough to just purchase the VPN and ask for it to be on PC and the rest of what I just stated is a done deal or do I need to be more specific as to what I need and look out for different options/offers?

    4. Does this apply to emails also? How can I keep my emails safe? VPN will not let them be seen(their content) when sent and if I have a good antivirus then they are safe on PC and gmail pass too?

    When I say snooping via router or network this is what I mean:
    I mean the entire router, any possible configurations(like sending data to somewhere by reconf it, even after having changed it's PW) that could have been made to it(by having access to default router page PW or WI|FI pass or any other way) and my LAN and WIFI.

    5. This would cover me also if someone connects my old desktop to LAN, that doesn't even have an updated antivirus from infection? My PC;s antivirus would protect it from an infected network or infection the desktop could transfer in anyway to my PC by being connected via LAn to router modem I use?

    6. If someone knows my wifi pass(I have to give it someone in my house and I don't seem to have a guest option on modem router adsl, and switching to bridge mode and adding another router seems too complicated) and is in range, with my pcs antivirus and a VPN on PC they cant get to any info?I read you can see stuff with wifi pass or it would make it easier to get into other stuff. Would a VPN cover me?

    7. Connecting a router/ network that could have been possibly compromised, snooped or whatever to a brand new PC could not infect the PC itself? Just maybe the traffic could be seen? Having access via router or network in any way cant hurt the PC itself? Someone would have to break into the default antivirus of PC to infect pC in any way? The antivirus came with pc but hadn't been updated till I got online, naturally. I assume my PC would be safe as it's brand new and attaching it via LAN to a possibly monitored router modem or network could not hurt itself, and as to the router and network part, a vpn would have me covered?
     
  2. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5,955
    First. This service you refer to as a VPN is a proxy service. There's only a limited use case for these services to enhance security. Most people don't fit into this situation and you certainly get zero additional security if you're using your own ISP.

    My answers inline.

     
    tre12 likes this.
  3. tre12

    tre12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    8

    Thank you so much for your reply! Just reading what I wrote took time. Thank you...
    I have some more questions, and I have no one to help me and I really need to ensure my stuff is safe, to at least ensure net safety, so, please, bear with me. I'd like to get this done really soon before I have to give out the wifi pass and risk desktop connecting to router modem I use. I'd say I have by Sunday.


    The problem is I cant change the router modem adsl from my ISP. I had bought a new DSL Asus router modem and then called them and they said it was not possible... I will discuss attaching a router to modem router below.

    1. Now, what I need to be sure of first is that my brand new PC is clean. Snooping traffic via router in any way can happen more often and it does not impose a risk to the PC itself, just monitors traffic? But a true bug on the router, as it is software, is very rare?
    I have some really evil people in my life, some of them close, and they would do all they could, so loading malicious code to a router would be very hard to do, not just a matter of some installing if you know router's default PW or WiFI PW and are in range?

    And if an old desktop infected the router modem or whatever connected by Ethernet and I connected to same router modem with my PC via Ethernet, can that infect the PC itself?

    2. If my PC is safe, we can move on.. As to the router and guest network. I cant figure out if my router modem supports it. There are multiple SSID options(four I think) but I don't know if they truly separate my network from guests safety wise or if its just some semi ssid option thing as it doesn't say guest network anywhere on configuration page. and its a low quality router modem.
    If not possible, I could also not figure out how to enable bridge mode(if that is indeed also possible) to connect my new router to it. And all the rest that I'm sure goes with it.
    As to the problem of connecting via Ethernet from other devices, I should be able to enable an option for the router to ask for a passthrough to connect like that? Is that PPPeo pass through or? And I could get a usb wifi. Are they too slow?

    I have a ZTE ZXHN H108N modem router. Do you think if you could check if the multiple ssid is truly a guest network?
    Pic:
    https://imgur.com/a/DA7wuNW
    https://imgur.com/a/TxReFh6
    https://imgur.com/a/sxzH0cN

    3. I had reset the ZTE.. and then connected via Ethernet to it. But it automatically connected to the network. Did not ask for any credentials. The guy that said I couldn't change the modem router said something about it all being in there so I couldn't change the modem router, even with credentials as I did try(with the new asus) but managed to exit the setup and had no internet connection, but before I did that I think it said user account or |PW incorrect. I used the user account on my bill and entered PW isp lady gave me)
    So I worry the ZTE did not truly reset or if a true reset is not possible due the ISP. I held the reset button for about 10 s as the manual says and I think the lights dimmed. I might have done this a couple of times.
    Could it have automatically connected to my new PC via Ethernet because the PPPoe pass thru was not enabled?
    The configuration page PW was set to default after reset.

    https://imgur.com/a/sJkHVL4


    Since I'm not sure how I stand with my android, I did not want to connect it to wifi now that I had reset, but I might have left it on(idiot) but I don't think it connected as I had changed the password for wifi and I think it always asked for the wifi password. I was trying to ensure that t anything that might have been compromised was taken care of.
    The configuration page PW was set to default after reset.

    4. Where does this info go after it gets out of the VPN tunnel? Someone snooping via router or wifi, be it on my network or from somewhere cant see what I send, but can they track it to the place the vpn dumps it if they see I have a vpn. Where does it usually go? I assume not somewhere someone snooping could see?

    My old router modem is ZTE the one I'm on now. I have a new asus modem router and some mercusys router. both have guest options, if I cant enable guest on ZTE(which would be ideal)

    Eternally grateful..

     
  4. tre12

    tre12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Hi. Quick question I need a precise answer to, if possible.

    If someone has wifi pass and access directly to network they can only access the wifi transmission part and if I don't send any traffic via wifi and if I disable the router page from wifi connection so they cant make changes, then my PC itself and its traffic is safe, while I'm on wire?

    Say my router itself or other devices connected to it or wifi or anything related to the router is compromised, or someone knew default router page PW, the router was reconfig, ath.

    Thanks!!
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    Unless you enable Wireless Isolation in the router wireless and wired clients are on the same network and have access to whatever is on either network. Wireless isolation is generally only an option for guest wireless networks. Disabling the router configuration page doesn't prevent access to the wired network.

    If you don't trust people, don't let them onto your network, nothing beats that for protection. Aside from that don't give out your wireless password, change the default router configuration password, disabled remote administration, change the wireless encryption type to WPA2-AES and change the wireless password to something not easily guessable. If your router supports a guest network use that for everyone who doesn't live there.
     
    tre12 likes this.
  6. tre12

    tre12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Thank you for a precise reply! I would really appreciate further assistance as I need to get this done by tomorrow as someone will come to whom I have to give the wifi PW.

    I don't know if my router truly enables guest option and I have to give out the PW..

    So, id need to disable the config page for no one to be able to make changes via wireless and Id need to enable wireless isolation to separate wired from wireless(usually just for a guest network)

    So I did this:
    I enabled hide network on SSID 1(my future to be protected network, tho i am on wire now and will use wire) and enabled it;s isolation. Should I have done that to SSID 1 or to SSID2? or both?
    https://imgur.com/a/r06K1HM

    SSID 2 I enabled. Should I have enabled isolation for it too? Or just it and not SSID 1?
    https://imgur.com/a/tycZPsK


    Is this a true guest network that would separate my pc and wire from wireless?

    I cant really check as I have no other device I trust not compromised to check.
    I have a ZTE ZXHN H108n router modem adsl

    If I enable no changes to router page by wireless and isolation, my wired is safe? No other ways to get in or see my traffic or hurt my PC itself?
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    You do NOT need to disable the config page, just set a password on it. There's no option to disable the config page on most routers nor has it much benefit. Wireless Isolation usually prevents access from the wireless network it's enabled on anyways.

    Don't hide the SSID, also a bad security practice and lowers your security in fact, it doesn't really hide it anyway and anyone with a cell phone can find it in a second.

    Looks like you may be able to have multiple SSID's, if so you can create another one, enable Wireless Isolation and give them that password.
     
  8. tre12

    tre12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Someone can only access router page with PW? And isolation wouldn't allow them. OK.

    I only need to enable ssid isolation(I assume that is the same as wireless isolation) as it's the option on the pic I sent on the the guest one(ssid2). My wireless ssid1 should not have ssid isolation enabled?

    This keeps wireless devices from accessing other wireless devices, but how about wireless from accessing wired? I am on wire and don't plan on using wifi.

     
  9. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,219
    First Name:
    Derek
    This is related to https://forums.techguy.org/threads/antivirus-and-vpn.1210676/#post-9506636

    Personally I think you are being a bit paranoid and are more likely to cause problems & actually reduce security as well as definitely reducing workability and convenience with the overkill. Too much security is as dangerous as not enough security.

    The more you add to the mix, the more likely something will go wrong and it all ends in disaster
     
  10. tre12

    tre12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Hi.

    it is related, but I asked a simpler and shorter Q, for which I need an answer ASAP.
    I don't think what I asked is complicated. I really need the answer.
     
  11. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    Most routers have a password on the configuration page, if yours doesn't right now there's most likely an option to set one.
     
  12. tre12

    tre12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Hi. Could you answer some questions regarding multiple SSIDs.

    This is SSID1 the one that is for me. Tho, I will be using wire, and as far as I understand, my wired connection and PC are safe if no one uses LAN, even if someone uses wifi, but I have made what appears to be a separate guest network.

    I isolated both SSIDs for all users to not be visible to each other within network or any other device or between networks.

    https://imgur.com/a/dnzBz2m
    https://imgur.com/a/rFodGHx

    An important question is the priority..
    https://imgur.com/a/j6xz8x3
    https://imgur.com/a/z4GkaHd

    For both SSID1 and 2 it says 1.
    Will that be a problem? I will not use SSID1 as I use wire, and will give out PW to others for SSID2. Should I enable 1 for SSID2 and for SSID1 2? I don't want the others user's wifi to be slow. Don't need the drama :). Or, if I don't use 1 then ssid2 will be fast if both have 1 for priority?


    And, finally, should I have isolation enabled on this page?
    https://imgur.com/a/XRzSOa1

    Someone mentioned disabling router page from wifi use or something about remote management.
    I only know the PW for router page, so I assume even with access w/o PW cant do anything..
     
  13. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,219
    First Name:
    Derek
    Enough is enough
    stop creating new topics for essentially the same query. Keep all your queries in the one topic until it is finally solved to your satisfaction
    I have now merged this one with your previous ones
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1210732

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice