1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Router won't recognize ethernet connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by tonyflow3117, Nov 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tonyflow3117

    tonyflow3117 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    ok so here's the problem.
    I have a thomson tg 585 router... and it wont recognize any ethernet connection. it worked fine until a few days ago. i have connected it to my laptop (it works just fine by wireless) and my xbox 360. the light on the router that says Ethernet isnt green as it normaly is when a device is connected, its just off. i have tried several ethernet cables and all 4 ethernet ports but it doesnt work. i even bought a new router and it doesnt work neither. the phone line is fine, the router is fine i think since i have 2 and neither seem to connect. i have reseted them several times and still nothing. can anyone help pleeeeaaaase..??????
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,401
    First Name:
    Terry
    I assume that there is a high probability that at least one of your ethernet cables is good.

    It sounds like you have two routers with dead ethernet sections or a laptop and Xbox with defective NICs.

    If the new router is a router only try connecting its WAN to a TG585 LAN port. Or, if either router has auto-sensing ports or you have a cross-over cable connect them by LAN to LAN. Any luck?

    If the laptop or Xbox has an auto-sensing port or you have a cross-over cable try connecting them together. Any luck?
     
  3. tonyflow3117

    tonyflow3117 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    ok, im sorry to bother you but i would really appreciate it if you could explain that to me cause i didnt quite get it... whats a crossover cable? (and for that matter, what is the WAN and the LAN port? is WAN the telephone cable?) ? i think its very unlikely that both my routers have dead ethernet sections.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,401
    First Name:
    Terry
    For a router only unit WAN is the port (sometimes labeled Modem or Internet) to which you connect the modem. For a modem/router combo such as the Thomson TG585 it is internal--between the modem part and the router part. The LAN ports of a router are the ethernet ports to which you can connect computers and similar devices.

    A cross-over cable is an ethernet cable in which a couple wires are switched ("crossed") to allow like devices (e.g., two computers) to connect.
     
  5. tonyflow3117

    tonyflow3117 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    thank you for your help but unfortunately i didnt have any results. can u think of smth else i could do?
     
  6. tonyflow3117

    tonyflow3117 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    also, what do i do if my laptop or my xbox actually have defective NICs?
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,401
    First Name:
    Terry
    It would be good if you could check your laptop on somebody else's known good router ethernet connection and cable.

    Also good to to check one or both routers with another known working cable and computer. Note that to check to see if a computer and router can connect/communicate with each other you need not have the router connected to anything else (you do not need internet access for the test).

    If the laptop's NIC is defective you can buy and use a USB adapter or a ExpressCard or PCMCIA (depending on the type of slot you have) card.

    I do not know what options you have with the Xbox.
     
  8. tonyflow3117

    tonyflow3117 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    ok so, i connected 2 other laptops with my router and its not working(wich is odd because its new)....could it be my internet provider's fault? .....also, my laptop wont work with pther working routers
     
  9. aretism

    aretism

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    This sounds very strange. Unless you had a power surge (or something similar) it's not likely that all your ethernet ports, and nics have all stopped functioning simultaneously.

    Reset your router. To do this, power it on and then press and hold the reset button (somewhere on the router, you have to find it) for about 10 seconds, untill you see it all blinking. Then check you are using the right ethernet cables. You may already be using crossover cables instead of normal ethernet cables.
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    55,795
    First Name:
    Derek
    log in to the router & run the setup wizard
    it is just possible that when it was sent out from ISP, it was set up as wirelsss only & the ethernet ports are disabled
     
  11. tonyflow3117

    tonyflow3117 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    i've done the reset thing like 20 times,and also the setup but nothing seems to work....i have called the internet company and they cant figure out whats wrong. they told me to bring over the router so they can fix it but i bought a new one and it has the same problem...i figured maybe its my laptop's and xbox's fault and that the router is fine, but the other day my roommate got a new laptop and still it doesnt work
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,401
    First Name:
    Terry
    Please confirm that "doesnt work" still and consistently means that the ethernet LEDs do not light on any of the routers, computers and Xbox.

    You have tried multiple routers, cables and computers, but still have not tried with a known working one, much less with two working ones, right?
     
  13. tonyflow3117

    tonyflow3117 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    i have tried two known working cables and a known working computer so i figure the problem is my router, right?
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,401
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yes, I'd buy that. :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/962820

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice